Kongregate - They don't 'host'?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:32 am

Hey, I have a rather pressing question.

I just tried to upload my C2 game to kongregate, however when I came to the update page, I freaked out...
It only asks for an 'Iframe URL'.
I assume this is the link to the index.HTML file...
But does this mean that Kongegate is not actually hosting my game? Must I find my own hosting? This is a huge problem for me. Sure, I could use Dropbox, but its bandwidth limits means that we have no chances of our games getting popular.
I really hope I am mistaken, however I am afraid I am not. Any clarifications?

(also, one of the fields is 'required plugin'. What should I put there? The options are None, Java, Unity, Silverlight, and Other (please specify).
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:42 am

Yeah, a lot of publishing methods require your own hosting. TBH hosting is dirt cheap these days and all you need is a static file host which should be cheaper than the ones that support server-side scripting. For a tenner a month you can probably get an acceptable file host (anyone have any recommendations?)

You could also try plugging in a Scirra Arcade URL, but that might be against their terms of service since you're using another arcade, plus it will show our embed ad.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:44 am

My game is ineligible for the arcade anyway.

And I have no budget. None. So I need something free. Fast.
Does anyone have anything? Anything?

(Also, I need an answer for the second question).

EDIT: Sorry for being a bit annoying. I was a bit irritated ;)
I looked around for a bit and found 3owl.com... it looks pretty good, unlimited bandwith and storage but if I am not paying am I always going to miss out on important features?sqiddster2012-02-11 01:55:43
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:37 am

[QUOTE=sqiddster] My game is ineligible for the arcade anyway.

And I have no budget. None. So I need something free. Fast.
Does anyone have anything? Anything?

(Also, I need an answer for the second question).

EDIT: Sorry for being a bit annoying. I was a bit irritated ;)
I looked around for a bit and found 3owl.com... it looks pretty good, unlimited bandwith and storage but if I am not paying am I always going to miss out on important features?[/QUOTE]

Don't know if this is what you are looking for, but ever heard of Game Jolt?
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:55 am

Cant say that Im not disappointed to hear this. I dont understand it - if they host flash games why not host html5 aswell?

Did you apply (or has anyone) applied for a sponsorship? It would break my heart if its not available for html5 games. Time for some research.

(I was unable to find much information on kongregate unfortunately - however i did see a post by a Yoyo games mod saying that they are working on overcoming the security issues in order to host the games. "soon".)GenkiGenga2012-02-11 07:31:20
ImageImage
B
72
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,448

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:52 am

TBH if you don't pay for a host you'll either get limited bandwidth, adverts pasted all over the site, or really crappy service (expect lots of downtime). You get what you pay for :-\
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:52 am

Facebook integrated with heroku some time ago, they dont seem to have any bandwidth limit at all instead you get small database and some other limitations. Check them out. Oh and it's free unless you requre some additional plugins
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NetOne, nimos100 and 8 guests