Laser special effect

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:41 am

What's the most efficient way to get a neat laser effect? I'm looking for something like this, with that glowy look and and soft edges.

Thanks in advance! :)
B
2
G
4
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,102

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:20 am

Try plasma its good for stuff like this
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:54 am

Plasma? Why? :?

Anyway, Additive effect is what gives lasers their glowy effect, and the soft edges can either be done with an alpha gradient sprite or by blurring a line.

Personally I would try the Line object with Additive and Madster's Variable Blur shader.

Or you can use a sprite with Additive and just stretch it, if that looks good enough for your purposes.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 8:05 am

[quote="deadeye":25xvy5dt]Or you can use a sprite with Additive and just stretch it[/quote:25xvy5dt]
This is what I'd do, though thanks for the plug :D

Do a thin filled box and preblur slightly it on an image editor, then cut a 1px wide sprite from that and stretch it to infinity and beyond (do use additive or some other effect).
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:16 pm

You can probably do alright with just a sprite with a carefully done alpha channel!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:30 pm

Here ya go.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:40 pm

Ah, right, alpha channels sound like the easiest method! Forgot about those with all the options :P

Ok.. a dumb question, but how do I use alpha channels in Construct? Is it somewhere in the picture editor? The wiki doesn't seem to mention anything on it.

[quote="deadeye":1jak1242]
Personally I would try the Line object with Additive and Madster's Variable Blur shader.
[/quote:1jak1242]
And uh, what's a Line object? Doesn't seem to be in the "Insert new object" list.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,102

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:52 pm

when you import a png or similar image file which includes alpha
it's automatic
you can also set an entire image's overall opacity in properties
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:21 pm

[quote="Muz":1dsxwjuu]Ah, right, alpha channels sound like the easiest method! Forgot about those with all the options :P

Ok.. a dumb question, but how do I use alpha channels in Construct? Is it somewhere in the picture editor? The wiki doesn't seem to mention anything on it.[/quote:1dsxwjuu]

Save the image you created with your graphics program (Photoshop or GIMP or what have you) as a .png with the alpha channel built in, then when you have Construct's image editor up, hit Open and select the .png file. The alpha channel will be imported automatically.

In other words, what lucid said :)

[quote="Muz":1dsxwjuu]And uh, what's a Line object? Doesn't seem to be in the "Insert new object" list.[/quote:1dsxwjuu]

Sorry, I forgot there is no Line object in 0.98.9 :P. It's a 0.99.x feature. It does pretty much what it says... it simply draws a line. You can set the length, width, and color. Not terribly fancy, but useful if all you need is a line.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:25 pm

holy crap, there's a line object!
cool. It's glitchy in the editor though. (try rotating it around)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest