Laser Whip

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:59 pm

@deadeye
It would work theoretically, but depending on game window size having a full screen canvas is never the best idea.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:04 pm

[quote="Davioware":1hc75rca]@deadeye
It would work theoretically, but depending on game window size having a full screen canvas is never the best idea.[/quote:1hc75rca]


True, but the game shown in the video looks to be about SNES resolution, which isn't too big. Plus, you only need the canvas when you have the whip active, yeah? You can spawn/destroy it as needed.

But if you can get a smooth looking chain of sprites then that's probably the most efficient way to go.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:07 pm

it's probably possible to make a chain of sprites and some distortion there to smooth it out if necessary without having the distortion change the collision much
just to fix the connecting edges


I don't know...I just haven't seen the smooth sprite chain done yet (or if I did, I didn't know it)
may be misplaced skepticism
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:10 pm

Quazi's blobber guy had a smooth chain of sprites for the hose on his nacho-cheese gun.

At least, the original did. If I remember correctly the newest version uses distortions. Anyway, if your segments are short enough the chain won't look too blocky.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:27 pm

I stand corrected:

[url:usmdqja1]http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1013446/raiden2.cap[/url:usmdqja1]

edit: although I think maybe a cubic curve instead of a quadratic might look cooler, and crazier

edit2: fixed cap, so now in start of layout you can choose the number of segments
also, in the last version I had a -10 pixel offset leftover from cutting and pasting
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:38 pm

my blobber uses a canvas, a small one, and the sprite for the tube is positioned and pasted using a loop
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:35 pm

I must say, you guys are a lot more helpful than those at Clickteam forums.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:01 am

[quote="Azu":10cdej37]I must say, you guys are a lot more helpful than those at Clickteam forums.[/quote:10cdej37]

Totally agree - this is like the most helpful community ever.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 884

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests