Layer in global layout not showing

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:03 pm

I have a store panel that is I intend to use through multiple levels in my game stored on layer ItemStore in my Global layout. In Level1 in my OpenStore function, I set ItemStore to visible. However, it is not showing up in the game. Hmmm....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xd0wv5g9o7ycn ... .capx?dl=0
B
16
S
7
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:49 pm

If I recall correctly, if you're using global layers you should make sure that your layers are named consistently across all layouts and that they use the same hierarchy eg if ItemStore layer is layer 3 on Level 1, then it should also be called ItemStore on layout PP and also be on layer 3. If you don't have that layer set up in other layouts with the same name and hierarchy it won't work as intended. Hope that makes sense.
B
64
S
25
G
4
Posts: 204
Reputation: 6,993

Post » Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:53 pm

On the linked project, the global layer is UI, not ItemStore. Make the ItemStore layer Global.
B
46
S
16
G
73
Posts: 2,084
Reputation: 43,677

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:21 pm

signaljacker wrote:If I recall correctly, if you're using global layers you should make sure that your layers are named consistently across all layouts and that they use the same hierarchy eg if ItemStore layer is layer 3 on Level 1, then it should also be called ItemStore on layout PP and also be on layer 3. If you don't have that layer set up in other layouts with the same name and hierarchy it won't work as intended. Hope that makes sense.


So if I understand correctly, whatever layers I have or will have throughout my multi level game, I will need to that in my global. Is that correct? I have a level named Start in my first layout called PP. I don't need that layer in Level one, but will it need to show up there as well as in the global layout? Thanks.
B
16
S
7
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,344

Post » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:37 pm

Whichever layer is global, you just add it to each layout you want it to appear in.
B
46
S
16
G
73
Posts: 2,084
Reputation: 43,677


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: plinkie and 17 guests