Layer or layout?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:34 pm

Hey everyone!

Second post here (Unfortunatully) but I dont wanna mix 2 different things into one.

Now, as I'm creating this clicker game, I'd like to know, what is better - Create buttons for Layer, or Layout? Imagine this - You are on Production layer/layout and wanna change it to Goverment layer/layout to manage your ministers.... Production Layout have INTERFACE layer including Gold, Lumber, Science points, Food and people earned in RealTime. What do you think?

Cheers for reply!
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:54 pm

I decide to create Layers but now I have a problem. Is this correct? O_o I didn't sleep for good 2 days so I'm confused. :D

When I start this game, after 2 seconds (one tick) my button ResBT dissapeare....... I cant find the problem. :/ I tried to check every command but with no luck....

Image
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:34 am

There isn't anything in that screenshot that I can see which would make your ResBT button disappear - maybe you would have more luck if you posted up a capx :).
B
13
S
6
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:10 am

When I come from work I'll post a link :)
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:42 am

If you PM me or quote me I'll check it out when its up :)
B
13
S
6
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:18 pm

I just think about setting a group (Layer Interface is visible-> Set Group Buttons active 'Buttons group=Button1-6 is visible')

What do you think?
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:28 pm

GDrive DL

Take it! :D
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:11 pm

Hey SputnikCZ, so your ResBT is fine for me - doesn't disappear at all. Your ProducBT button does disappear though :P. This is happening because you have the Fade behavior on it, set to activate on start with a 1 second fade out and destroy after fade. You can disable it by clicking on the button, then removing the Fade behavior on the left in the properties panel :).

When I'm debugging, I usually do two things - I first use the search in the events tab at the top of construct to search for the object which is causing the problem. This helps catch any stray events which may be the issue.
If that doesn't help I fire up the game in debugging mode and watch exactly what happens to the object as the problem occurs.

In this instance I searched and couldn't find anything, so I watched the object in the debugger. I saw that it had been destroyed by the fade behaviour :). The debugger is really useful!

Hope that helped :)
B
13
S
6
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:40 pm

How the hell I put there fade?!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D Well, Sheits happen :D Thank you so much for that. And those buttons - did they work? Because they dont work for me......
SoftWork Group Ltd

Co-founders:
Robert Matik (UK Division)
Lukas Zyrek (CZ Division)

07399443703 (UK Division)

International(at)softworkgroup.wtf - for basic questions and information
Office(at)softworkgroup.wtf - email for questions about team and proposals
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,656


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests