Layer scaling without parallax

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:50 am

I'm trying to setup a HUD to scale with the window, yet stay in place while camera navigates the layout.

Currently I have my HUD in a separate layer with scale rate set to 100 and parallax set to (0,0).

This doesn't seem to work as I thought it would. As I resize the window the HUD changes position. I've also tried using the anchor behaviour without much success.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
B
3
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 687

Post » Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:18 am

Hello Keska

If you set your HUD layer scale rate to 0, and use the anchor object it should stay in place while the camera navigates the layout. As far as scaling the sizes of everything on your HUD I haven't figured out a way to do that other than manually resizing the HUD items. But if anyone knows how please let us know.

Also I would like to add on to your question since I was about to make a similar post.

I was wondering if it is possible to get a non scrolling game to fill, and scale every browser sized window completely without boarder lines on the sides or top, and bottom like the games you see on the Chrome web store?

What I mean is in full screen mode it seems to work but only after hitting the F11 button, and that is only if you get the screen size close to your own but in the browser window it self the ratio always seems to be off leaving boarders usually on the sides.

Maybe I'm just going about it all wrong again but Iv been trying to figure it out for days now. Wink2011-11-01 09:40:54
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:57 pm

@Wink: I'm not sure but have you checked the tutorial about multiple fullscreen sizes ?

It seems to me you may find your answer in it.Kyatric2011-11-01 23:58:01
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:42 am

@Kyatric Thank you for your response. Yes I have been going over that tutorial IDK maybe I'm missing something.

Here is what I am trying to achieve, in the picture below is a board type puzzle game on the Chrome web store. There is no scrolling in the game and it sizes to fit the browser window without borders.




But I keep getting borders on the sides when in the browser window. They disappear when I press the F11 key.



Is there a special technique to get this effect, or does the Chrome web stores canvas just auto adjust this for you? This would be more visually appealing for non scrolling puzzle, and board type games. I might just be doing something wrong, I will go read the tutorial again.

B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Tue May 29, 2012 12:42 am

I have figured out how to get around this problem ... kind of... make the background image bigger than what you will show. That way instead of seeing white you will see the extra edge of the image. I hope that makes sense
Image
B
35
S
13
G
9
Posts: 142
Reputation: 7,340


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jobel, Timedoor Indones and 20 guests