Layer visibility after restart

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:51 pm

Problem Description
Layer visibility is not changing to default value after restart/change layout.

Description of Capx
Very crude example with excessive use of button objects showing how layers visibility is not reset after layout restart/change

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Preview
  • Click on button to set "box" layer visibility to "invisible"
  • Click other button to go to second layout (I used "go to layout" instead of restart for better visual representation, but effect is the same)
  • On layout 2 click button to go back to previous layout.

Observed Result
After setting layer visibility to different one from default value (from visible to invisible and/or vice versa) this layer will keep its visible state after restarting layout or switching to different layout.

Expected Result
Layer visibility should reset to default state after restarting layout. So if layer is visible and you make it invisible at runtime by events it should switch back to visible (default state) after using "restart layout"

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: YES
  • FireFox: -
  • Internet Explorer:-

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 7 64bit SP1

Construct 2 Version ID
r165
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,592
Reputation: 34,644

Post » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:29 pm

Closing as won't fix. It's trivial to workaround, and changing how this works will likely just break lots of existing projects in confusing ways.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Sun Jun 08, 2014 6:42 am

Ashley wrote:Closing as won't fix. It's trivial to workaround, and changing how this works will likely just break lots of existing projects in confusing ways.

huh? can you explain a bit more?
If you are not going to fix it - regardless your reasons - you should at least add a warning tooltip.
Because if you RESTART a layer you EXPECT that layout to go back to its original state, in every and all aspects.
So either fix it or place a warning inside editor. otherwise be prepared that more people will come here and report this issue.
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

Post » Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:47 pm

@irbis - where would the warning go and under what circumstances should it appear in such a manner that it is not a simple irritation to those whom the problem does not affect? It is not trivial even to display a warning, and the workaround is trivial, you just need to throw in a 'set layer visible' action.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:40 pm

Ashley wrote:@irbis - where would the warning go and under what circumstances should it appear in such a manner that it is not a simple irritation to those whom the problem does not affect? It is not trivial even to display a warning, and the workaround is trivial, you just need to throw in a 'set layer visible' action.

In "Go To Layout" and "Restart Layout" system actions tooltip + Layer Visibility tooltip
Image
Ashley, believe it or not but not all C2 users are reading forums. Left alone being instantly teleported to this thread when they spot this problem.

If i would be a new user, and i would use those system actions i would be very suprised and i would try and find a bug in my events that is cousing this. I would think it was my mistake, somewhere. Then after minutes or hours of checking my project events i would go here and report it as a bug.
Or just get pissed.
I would never have gues that its a well known issue which the C2 devs are aware of.
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

Post » Tue Jun 10, 2014 12:57 pm

There's probably a lot more state that isn't reset by jumping layout. It would be difficult to list everything in a useful way.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:44 pm

Ashley wrote:There's probably a lot more state that isn't reset by jumping layout. It would be difficult to list everything in a useful way.

Huh? What else doesn't reset?
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

Post » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:18 pm

I'm not actually sure, but presumably all other layer properties, effect parameters, global objects, persisted objects, any other global state like project settings, global variables, storage, music playback, in-flight network requests, etc. In fact it's easier to list what it does change: it just destroys all objects and re-creates the initially placed objects from the layout view. All other state is global.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,450

Post » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:14 am

Ashley wrote:I'm not actually sure, but presumably all other layer properties, effect parameters, global objects, persisted objects, any other global state like project settings, global variables, storage, music playback, in-flight network requests, etc. In fact it's easier to list what it does change: it just destroys all objects and re-creates the initially placed objects from the layout view. All other state is global.

and this should be added somewhere. really.
that was the biggest pain with CC remember? Poor documentation. Now its a lot better but still from time to time issue like this arise.
Maybe just write a quick guide in tutorials section? You can even copy/paste what has been said so far in this thread. So if people would bump into some troubles - that guide would popup in their google search.
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:21 am

@irbis - I agree with you 100%. I'm a noob and still have my Construct training wheels on. I went in with the same expectations you had...the layout and all layers on said layout would be reset to they're original state. I'm using a number of layers and finally realized it wasn't resetting them back to the initial visibility.

I don't mind if the product isn't updated but I would really love to see a note on this behavior in the manual. It isn't mentioned on the layout, layers, or system actions pages. It really makes the most sense on the system actions page since that is where 'go to layout' and 'restart layout' are mentioned. Neither of which reset back to initial visibility of layers.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 335

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests