Layout Duplication

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:17 pm

Maybe I'm missing some simple, so I thought I would ask here. Just as an example to test, if one takes say the Pacman example. Now, I duplicated the layer and told it to use the event sheet from the previous layer. However, when running a test on layer 2, the ghosts just slide off the screen. Run layer 1 and everything is fine. Appreciate the feedback.
B
17
S
3
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:28 pm

Can you post an example .capx? If I do that here, everything works fine..
B
106
S
35
G
37
Posts: 796
Reputation: 25,211

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:34 pm

Sure can, you can use the below example which is what I did.

http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/308/cloning-the-classics-pacman/page-1
B
17
S
3
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:51 pm

I just tried with that capx and it worked perfectly.

My exact order of events: right-click Main Layout in the projects pane, click duplicate. Change Layout 1's event sheet to Main Events. Delete Main Layout. Run game.

Everything is fine, although it should be noted that Pac-Man seems to be a little sick; his angle doesn't seem to update properly when changing direction. But that happens right off the bat without changing layouts.
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,942

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:56 pm

The idea wasn't to delete the main layout, but to create additional layouts using the same event sheet. I should have included that statement in my first post.
B
17
S
3
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:59 pm

I did that just to test. It works whether or not I delete the initial layout.
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,942

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:05 pm

What version of C2 are you using GeometriX?
B
17
S
3
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:06 pm

The latest beta, r112.
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,942

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:14 pm

Well, I'm at a total loss then. I did the exact same thing, made sure I saved the changes, ran the second layout and ghosts moved through the walls and off the screen. I too am running r112, under W Vista Ultimate and Firefox 17.0.1
B
17
S
3
Posts: 26
Reputation: 1,972

Post » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:17 pm

That is weird, I'd suggest posting a bug report then. For the record, I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and running Chrome 23.0.1271.97. Maybe try the same capx on another PC and/or browser, just to reduce the variables?
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,942

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests