Layout editing?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:35 pm

I was wondering if I'm missing any useful features that may be present in designing layouts? I have lots of tiles that need to accurately be positioned correctly to form a nice looking level, so I used the Grid snapping tool. Problem was, there's not some sort of offset, so the grid always pings tiles into place according to the size you specified and nothing more, no shifting the alignment unless you highlight everything and move it manually.

Another question, sometimes sprites position themselves in a decimal value (instead of X position of sprite being 500, it sometimes is something like 500.393) Is there some sort of key you can hold to prevent this or anything? It is very tedious to have to click individual sprites that have this and then remove the decimal numbers, especially when there are many tiles

And finally, much like Construct Classic, is there a way to automatically duplicate lots of sprites in rows and columns? That was a sure way to save immense time when designing layouts :3

IF it is not recommended to use the layout as a place to create levels, then I would love to know what the most best alternative is to making them and loading them in. (Probably something to do with arrays, I don't know )

Thanks!
B
45
S
19
G
10
Posts: 562
Reputation: 9,543

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:00 am

All good suggestions
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:19 am

1 - Use the TiledBackground for more easy and precise positionning !

2 - I don't think ... but I'm sure that it's on Scirra Team to-do list ;)

3 - Please go back and read the second answer ! ( Too lazy to re-write it :3 )

4 - Layers - Just tweak their opacity to make the level change and the magic operate :D

That's all folks !

Cheers !
B
34
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,564


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dewetberg, RickUSBstick, Yura G and 21 guests