Layout Loading Problem?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:13 pm

I have this game which I am making, and the problem is that when I set the player to collide with the Exit level object, and I make it load the next layout, it always crashes. Any solutions :?:

This is the link to the CAP file: [url:15x61zex]http://www.fileshack.us/get_file.php?id=524173&file=Top+Down+Shooter.zip[/url:15x61zex]

Oh yeah, and the controls are WASD to move, and Left Click to shoot, and E for machine gun, and Q for pistol.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,096

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 2:38 pm

i think there are two causes. first thing is that you do not have the exit level object. second thing is that you have only one layout. so. if you tell construct, that on player collision with nonexistent object it should go to the nonexistent layout, it simply crashes. i think the solution is simple: make a second layout, make an exit object and THEN add new condition about the player colliding with exit object and goink to the next layout.

cheers.
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 2:42 pm

Oh, sorry. That was the non updated one. Let me repost it.
http://www.fileshack.us/get_file.php?id ... e=game.cap

Yeah, and this one has the other layouts as well as the exit boundary. It was what crashed before. Still does... :cry:
B
2
G
4
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,096

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:21 pm

This looks like a tricky bug. Could you post it to the tracker?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:38 pm

[quote="Ashley":2hf6mw5u]This looks like a tricky bug. Could you post it to the tracker?[/quote:2hf6mw5u]

So you are saying I can't do anything about it right now? Oh well. Thanks though! :mrgreen:
B
2
G
4
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,096

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:49 pm

Well when I run it through the debugger it memory leaks and hangs which means I'm gonna have to spend some time on it. You could, however, go for the old trick: delete stuff until the problem goes away, then work out which deleted thing fixed it. (Don't forget to backup!) If you could give that a try and let me know what "fixes" it, it could save me a lot of time...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Fri Aug 29, 2008 4:26 pm

[quote="Ashley":2kg9s9wk]Well when I run it through the debugger it memory leaks and hangs which means I'm gonna have to spend some time on it. You could, however, go for the old trick: delete stuff until the problem goes away, then work out which deleted thing fixed it. (Don't forget to backup!) If you could give that a try and let me know what "fixes" it, it could save me a lot of time...[/quote:2kg9s9wk]

I got it to work by deleting the cursor layer. I dragged the cursor onto the same layer as the main game, and deleted the original cursor layer, and it has worked thereafter. :D
B
2
G
4
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,096


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests