Layout Object - How to Use?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:02 am

I was thinking of trying to throw a description out on the wiki of the Layout Object, but I'm having trouble thinking of what examples I would use.

Anybody use the Layout Object for anything or have some good ideas of how it would be used in a game? Thanks!
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:25 pm

theres a layout object?
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 259
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:10 am

yeah, crazy huh. I've messed with it some and you can do neat stuff like embed layouts inside other ones, you could make a little room be one layout and add cool effects only if you entered the room... I don't know. Just thinking what other people are doing with it, or maybe they don't use it at all??
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Mon Sep 14, 2009 4:14 am

Do you know if theres a way you can make a section of one layout invisible to see through to the other one, or would it just show that white looking part of the screen like if you didn't have a background?

Seeing this post the other day gave me an idea for a tool to create, but don't know if it would work
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:47 am

I use the Layout object mainly for compartalisation. Say I'm doing an RTS. The Worldmap may be the layout object while the UI may be in the layout itself. When you want a little compartmentalized object with its own coding and actions, use the layout object.

I believe someone used the layout object really well when they were making a "Two camera" game a few months ago.
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:47 pm

[quote="cow_trix":31s6zq14]I use the Layout object mainly for compartalisation. Say I'm doing an RTS. The Worldmap may be the layout object while the UI may be in the layout itself. When you want a little compartmentalized object with its own coding and actions, use the layout object.

I believe someone used the layout object really well when they were making a "Two camera" game a few months ago.[/quote:31s6zq14]

Thanks for the info. Great suggestions for how to use it. All experiment with it some more and hopefully get a good wiki entry up within a few weeks.

@misfitbyte hmmm very interesting idea. I'm not sure, but I'll have to experiment with it. A workaround would probably to just put the layout object to the front and it wouldn't matter if the main layout was invisible.
B
8
S
3
G
7
Posts: 835
Reputation: 5,313

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:09 pm

No, I meant the other way 'round...looking through the layout object to the main layout. It would help if I actually tried my idea, but theres a lot of them rambling around.

If anyone is interested, in seeing it later or doing something similar what I was thinking was a tool to help with scripting an RPG...where you can run your cap, walk around in the world and when you talk to an NPC that doesn't have dialog attatched to it yet, this other layout would pop up to give you all kinds of options for inputting your dialog right there. Then when you're done with the project, you either uninclude the event sheets for it or just delete the whole layout and the game runs as normal.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests