Layout of Select Mission

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:17 pm

Hello and thanks for reading this message.

I have a new question, does anyone know how to make a screen: "select mission"?


I would like to add pictures of the missions, and clicking on these, load the selected mission. Can you do this?.
An image is not a button, so do not know if what I have to do is add better buttons.

Besides, I have the question of how these missions could be selected with the keyboard and mouse?.

Thanks and regards.jesusruiz2013-04-19 23:18:38
B
4
Posts: 17
Reputation: 261

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:22 pm

Use the mouse action 'on click...' whether it be left mouse, or double click. You can then select the object that is to be clicked I believe. It's either that or add a condition for if it is over that particular sprite.

After you click the sprite you can load a new layout.

As for a picture of the mission. You can play the layout and then do a screen capture. There is an event under "System" for that I believe.
"In truth we live, In Truth we die"
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 3,172

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:41 pm

You've got loads of options to do this, and I'm kind of surprised that there isn't a tutorial to cover this.

The easiest way by far is just to have a series of sprites on which the user clicks/taps using the mouse and/or touch object. In that sense, any sprite can become a button, you just use the mouse -> [On object clicked] action instead of using an action from the sprite itself.

As for keyboard input, that's a little trickier, but here's a quick example for using the left/right cursor keys to navigate a selection screen. Press return to select the level. Example capx [r126]

In my example I'm assuming all levels are labelled "Level 1", "Level 2", etc. The text action is just an example of how to use the currently selected level, you'd usually use an action like [Go to layout] -> "Level "&Selection.Selected+1
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,972

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:44 pm

Thanks Xerullian ;)

I forgot to insert an object type Input Mouse, Keyboard to my project. Now I can see and use that option.

Thanks ;)
B
4
Posts: 17
Reputation: 261

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:46 pm

There's this video tutorial with Construct 2 that you may find helpful. Some of his other tutorials have helped me. It's on youtube under ConstructDude - level select tutorial. Here is the link.

http://youtu.be/JJWWw9UMIs0
"In truth we live, In Truth we die"
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 3,172

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:48 pm

[QUOTE=GeometriX] You've got loads of options to do this, and I'm kind of surprised that there isn't a tutorial to cover this.

The easiest way by far is just to have a series of sprites on which the user clicks/taps using the mouse and/or touch object. In that sense, any sprite can become a button, you just use the mouse -> [On object clicked] action instead of using an action from the sprite itself.

As for keyboard input, that's a little trickier, but here's a quick example for using the left/right cursor keys to navigate a selection screen. Press return to select the level. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14522925/C2%20examples/LevelSelectKeyboard.capx [r126]

In my example I'm assuming all levels are labelled "Level 1", "Level 2", etc. The text action is just an example of how to use the currently selected level, you'd usually use an action like [Go to layout] -> "Level "&Selection.Selected+1[/QUOTE]
Thanks for the example, I just downloaded this.

I want the option of the keyboard, so your project will be of much help.

If I have any questions ask here again.

Thanks :)
B
4
Posts: 17
Reputation: 261

Post » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:49 pm

Glad to help :)
"In truth we live, In Truth we die"
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 3,172


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests