len(bla.text) not working

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:43 am


i don't know why this won't work D:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2867484/PartialExistence.cap <look at the "menu" layout
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 139
Reputation: 2,331

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:34 am

Can you make a .cap? Can you explain what you expect it to do so we don't misinterpret your intention from the picture of your events? Can you explain what it actually does?

Have you tried making a basic application that just sets a string to len("Hello") or len(SomeTextBox.Text)? Are you sure len is the problem there?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:45 pm

System: Every 500 milliseconds
System: 0 len(EditBox 0 .Text) Greater than 0
> SystemCreate object Sprite 0 on layer 1 at (random(640), random(480))


This worked as expected in 995. Can't reproduce.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:58 pm

why 0 len(EditBox 0 .Text) Greater than 0?
A 0 before len?
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 139
Reputation: 2,331

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:07 pm

I suspect he copied events as text; in that case it appears to be object number, in our case system.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:14 pm

Oh, yah. Anyway, halp?
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 139
Reputation: 2,331

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:12 am

That 'Copy event as text' glitch is fixed in 0.99.7 btw.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest