Licence explanations

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
  • Hello, I'd like to buy licence, but I'm not shure which licence I need.

So if anyone can help me and explain some things I'd be very thankfull. For example, how can Scirra know how much revenue I made with my games? Is it "play fair" policy? I mean if I make more than 5K I wouldn't blink before buying the bussines licence, but how can Scirra actually know how much money I make selling my games or through advertising?

Scenario a)

I have a personal licence, and I make a game for a client on a contract and I give him exported files, I charge him 1000$, thus I don't need bussines licence. So the game is not mine any more, but the client makes 10 000$ from advertising in this game I made, or he resells the game for 10 000$. Do I need to buy bussines licence although he made 10K and not me?

Scenario b)

I'm a poor indy game developer , and I spent my last 129$ for Personal licence. I can't afford paying fees to publish on AppStore or Google Play, so I let a friend of mine sell the game through his accounts, and agree with him on revenue share. Am I allowed to do that? If he pays me in cash "under the table", how could Scirra know how much money I made?

If I understand correctly "Personal Edition Licenses are permitted for use by one named individual." means that only I am allowed to use the Construct software, but once I export the game for, lets say, android, I can do with it what ever I like, as long as I don't make more than 5K $, right?

• I doubt that Scirra are going to discuss the security implications and procedures regarding how they check licensing, and as users, we are hardly going to know the answer.

IMO just asking the question is dodgy.

Also, all licensing queries would be better off being directed to . That way, Tom can deal with any unusual queries you may have in a much more professional and less subjective way than you would receive here.