Lights missing alot of functionality

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:17 am

Hey, i'm something of a new user and was putting Construct through its paces when I figured out that there is no way to identify a particular instance of a light.

What I am trying to do: I am making something of an artillery tech demo and am trying to assign a light to each shell.

The issue: There is no way I can tie a light to a shell - While you can edit and name private vars for a light, you cannot set, add, or subtract from them unless you use the debugger, and they seem to have no Unique ID (A call thats supposed to return this always returns 0).

Is this simply missing or what? I cant seem to find any workarounds either as it seems that there is nothing unique or identifying presented to me in the event editor.

-Cameron Mercer

(PS: First post!) :)
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890

Post » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:28 am

I'd suggest reading the wiki article on Containers.

To give a basic idea on what containers do, if you put the light in a container with the bullet, every bullet will have a light object paired with it. I'd explain more, but the wiki article will be able to be a better job of it.

Good luck. :)
Moderator
B
98
S
37
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,817

Post » Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:06 am

[quote="linkman2004":120po1ri]I'd suggest reading the wiki article on Containers.

To give a basic idea on what containers do, if you put the light in a container with the bullet, every bullet will have a light object paired with it. I'd explain more, but the wiki article will be able to be a better job of it.

Good luck. :)[/quote:120po1ri]

Yes! That is exactly what I am trying to do! I dont think it could get any simpler, you rule sir.

You, and this program! Containers are one of those awesome ideas that makes you wonder why every program doesn't have them (I am coming from a TGF 2/Game Maker background). This just cut my code by ~65%.

I am completely ecstatic, even though I still think that lights should be able to have values set to them (I mean, the functions are already there, its kinda misleading).

Thanks again sir.
-Cameron
B
2
G
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 890


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests