Limit/Stable Frame Rate

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:28 am

Is there a way to force a stable frame rate, or at least limit frame rate? Frame rate fluctuations can be rather annoying, and a lot of stuff still looks pretty good under 60 FPS.
B
7
S
2
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:25 am

You can't choose the framerate limit (60fps by default), so you should try to make your game framerate independent.

Also make sure there is nothing too much cpu or gpu intensive for the computer.

I would like to be able to change the framerate to whatever I choose, for debbuging purposes.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:46 am

Dang. I have some effects that reduce the framerate by 5-8 FPS for a short period of time, but it's noticeable on mobile. It's not really much, but it'd be really nice if I could just cap it at a stable 50 FPS or something.
B
7
S
2
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:52 pm

50 fps would look terrible because it's not easily divisible by 60, the native framerate of almost all screens. You'd have to drop to 30 to get it smooth.
Moderator
B
94
S
33
G
33
Posts: 3,006
Reputation: 27,744


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: newt and 8 guests