Linux version generated with the NW.js it's not working

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:59 am

Eisenhans wrote:@RBuster

I checked your demo.
The thing on linux is: shared libraries (something like a .dll on windows) can be executable too, depending on how they are programmed. The file managers try to identify those by various methods and hide the executable options on them.
The problem is: the way modern executables are compiled those file managers sometimes misinterpret and have false positives. This is typically no problem, because, unlike on windows, people do not browse to a directory with a file manager and execute stuff there. You run your stuff either through your desktop environment (start menu entries or whatever the specific linux distribution offers for its own software), or by terminal.

The file manager that I have tested (thunar) falls for the nw-executable too and does not offer to execute it. There is probably no way to get this to work reliably, because of the way chromium is required to be built.
If your customer requires this: drop the customer ;)


Thanks for the reply.

So I cannot have an executable file exported from C2 with NW.js working on linux? is it?
B
74
S
13
G
3
Posts: 995
Reputation: 7,531

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:14 am

You can.
But you cannot have one, that will 100% reliably execute from linux file managers.

It will always work from the terminal, as soon as the execute flag is set.
B
72
S
28
G
32
Posts: 477
Reputation: 19,640

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:21 am

But if I want to execute from the desktop I will need to create an installer or put all the files on the desktop? And about the problem of the links that is not working when I use the terminal to open the application? Did you figure out what's happening?
B
74
S
13
G
3
Posts: 995
Reputation: 7,531

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:40 am

The desktop route is (almost) impossible, because it's different for every linux distribution. It typically works the other way round: Linux distro maintainers will pull open source software from the developer's repositories and integrate them into their mechanism. Your way, distributing commercial software in binary form, is a fringe case. It's not typical.

There are no commercial programs that work on every distro's desktop, they typically concentrate on one or two and let the users themselves deal with the rest. That's one of the reasons why linux is so small outside the server world.

I would just let the customer start via terminal and be done with it.

As to your second question: I have no idea about the links.
B
72
S
28
G
32
Posts: 477
Reputation: 19,640

Post » Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 pm

Eisenhans wrote:The desktop route is (almost) impossible, because it's different for every linux distribution. It typically works the other way round: Linux distro maintainers will pull open source software from the developer's repositories and integrate them into their mechanism. Your way, distributing commercial software in binary form, is a fringe case. It's not typical.

There are no commercial programs that work on every distro's desktop, they typically concentrate on one or two and let the users themselves deal with the rest. That's one of the reasons why linux is so small outside the server world.

I would just let the customer start via terminal and be done with it.


Thanks for all the explanations. I really know nothing about the Linux.

Eisenhans wrote:As to your second question: I have no idea about the links.


In the application that you open through the terminal you will find several buttons among them: image1/image2/Sound. When I try to open these assets through the application, nothing happens, but I can do it normally in the windows versions. Do you know why I cannot do the same in the Linux version?

Taking advantage of your patience, I wonder if you think that is better if I will create a browser version to the Linux users. The problem is that application needs to work in offline mode. In this case, the user will need to access the app online in the first time and use the offline cache in the next times, right?
B
74
S
13
G
3
Posts: 995
Reputation: 7,531

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Glyfos, jefftrier and 5 guests