List of supported resolutions

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:24 pm

Ok, fixed it so that modes are not repeated. The other modes were rotated modes and modes with different refresh rates.

On my computer only these modes are now listed:
320 200
320 240
400 300
512 384
640 400
640 480
800 600
1024 768
1280 768
1280 800
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,738
Reputation: 40,739

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:19 am

Awesome, thanks again!
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:31 am

[QUOTE=R0J0hound] Well, contrary to what tulamide says, I don't know how how to do it, but I just learned from a few internet serches and about an hour of tinkering.[/QUOTE] So, despite of what you said, in the end you proved me right
I just can't think of anything in programming that you couldn't solve with such an ease and clear, comprehensive concept. It is pure admiration. For example, I too started an internet search but I didn't come up with anything but pygame. If anything fails, you are reliable. That was needed to be said
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:57 pm

Perfect, thanku.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:55 pm

Does this also support 64bit Operating Systems? I got an error saying something about no 'win32api'.

Old thread I know, but contains some very useful information.
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:05 pm

"win32api" is a python library that is included in resolutions.zip that I first posted. When I updated the cap I didn't re-include the python files.

Download the zip then download the updated cap and it should work.
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,738
Reputation: 40,739

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:15 pm

Ahhh yeah, my bad. Thanks!

So using this, it would be possible for a player to select a resolution from this list, and the game update its display to reflect that decision?
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:08 pm

[QUOTE=-Silver-] So using this, it would be possible for a player to select a resolution from this list, and the game update its display to reflect that decision? [/QUOTE]
It is possible to develop exactly that, yes. But the provided script just does the first, most important step for you: It lists resolutions that you can be sure of to be supported as fullscreen modes. All you have to do is this:
1) Offer the player the list to choose one of the resolutions.
2) Set the window to this resolution.
3) Switch fullscreen on.

Of course, you still have to decide what to do with the layout (stretching, black bars, zooming, etc.)

But without that list, you couldn't offer different fullscreen modes at all (apart from the current desktop resolution). So, the most important part is ready to go, but you still have to program all the details.tulamide2012-01-09 14:09:08
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:19 pm

Fantastic, thanks! And yeah, I'll have to play around extensively before deciding on how to handle the size increase. Zooming out is the first thing that comes to mind, but I don't want it revealing things that should be out of screen for players with incredibly high resolutions.

Thanks for the help.
B
15
S
7
G
7
Posts: 250
Reputation: 5,298

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest