Load everything into memory at the start

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:38 am

Yeah; sounds ridiculous... but I'm curious if this is even possible.

My game when it starts, is quick... but as you get into the first level, the frame-rate drops a lot as it's loading, then it's perfect 60fps throughout.... it's just that first couple of seconds where it hesitates which leads me to believe it's the loading stage. I'm not 100% sure if it's possible, as the browser may not allow this to happen... but in case someone else has figured out a way, I thought I would ask.

Thanks!
B
47
S
15
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,625

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:08 am

See this:

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/318/ho ... ng-screens

First you see the default scirra loading bar, but just briefly. Then you have a loader layout, providing you added one. After that, the only thing which is not loaded completely is audio...and you can even force that to load if you wish.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:12 am

I have no audio in my game yet, however I see a huge delay at the start of a level... yet if I go back to the title screen, and start the level again, it's instant... which leads me to believe it's a loading process, and I wanted to completely eliminate that bottleneck... but I guess there doesn't seem to be a way... so maybe I'll just have a fade in, to hide any frame rate drops... kind of disappointing though.
B
47
S
15
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,625

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:44 am

I get a similar sort of effect the first time I load a WebGL shader on some devices. First instance of the shader hickups, then it's smooth even after reloading the level. Maybe it's something similar for you?
B
11
S
2
G
3
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:18 am

Juryiel wrote:I get a similar sort of effect the first time I load a WebGL shader on some devices. First instance of the shader hickups, then it's smooth even after reloading the level. Maybe it's something similar for you?


Yeah, perhaps... Maybe I just have to get used to it. It's going to look pretty unprofessional, but I don't think there is anything I can do... other than removing content. :\
B
47
S
15
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,625

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:34 am

Well my point was, if we're having the same issue then maybe Ashley can solve it, or we can work around it (e.g place an object with that effect on screen under a mostly black but transparent "Loading" layer, or something of that nature. I'll definitely try to solve it on my end anyway, if I succeed I'll let you know.
B
11
S
2
G
3
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1,968

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:53 am

It's probably the shaders, since that's the frame rate problems I've had. I would say don't worry about "unprofessional" because you can still do sprite graphics in a professional way. If it's not sprites, there are tons of techniques to use to give similar effects. The goal is not hang yourself up on a situation when it could easily be done another way. Especially if you're releasing for mobile, the screen size on most devices that people play on is small enough to where sprites look nice even without shaders (if that is what it is).
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 265
Reputation: 3,696

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:13 pm

roracle wrote:Especially if you're releasing for mobile, the screen size on most devices that people play on is small enough to where sprites look nice even without shaders (if that is what it is).


Wii-U... which is why I don't want frame rate issues... as the system is powerful enough to handle a TON you can throw at it, but this hang up in Construct is making it look bad.
B
47
S
15
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,625

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:23 pm

Shaders won't work if the platform does not support webGL... so you may want to see if the Wii-U even supports it first...
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,583

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:00 pm

BluePhaze wrote:Shaders won't work if the platform does not support webGL... so you may want to see if the Wii-U even supports it first...


I'm not using any shaders. That's not what's causing the slow downs... loading is.
B
47
S
15
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,625

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Euduardo, Kin, mikehive, ratboy3, tinhofiel and 35 guests