Load everything into memory at the start

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:30 pm

Cant you use something like a delayed start of the game ?

Like, when it starts, have a semi transparent black layer with a small timer counting from 3 or 5 or something, which perhaps overlapses the reduced performance moment.
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:54 pm

Have you ran the game with the debugger to see where the main resource spikes are? I mainly ask because usually before you see anything else (after the initial loading screen) everything is loaded at that point. The exceptions are usually audio or any items that you are generating via events at the start of layout. Are you creating anything at the start of layout, etc... the debugger should show you where the load is coming from.
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,573

Post » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:49 am

Any progress in this topic? I don't have that huge sprites, no webgl shaders, but have a little bit complicated event sheet. Having exactly same issue : first time hiccups. It looks really unprofessional. Maybe we need another loading screen.
B
23
S
8
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 2,780

Post » Sun Sep 28, 2014 6:26 pm

Same here. I thought C2 DID load everything on start up though. I'd rather have a loader layout that can be used between levels.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
79
S
12
G
7
Posts: 961
Reputation: 10,717

Post » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:37 pm

Why not just add a loading screen at the beginning of the level?
B
56
S
15
G
13
Posts: 825
Reputation: 17,643

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests