Loading Crash

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:37 am

Whenever I try to load or create a .capx file in Construct 2 the engine crashes. I can start it to get to the landing page, but when I click new or load and select a .capx file the program stops responding. This is all I can give to you about what I know of the problem because no error file is generated and no error window shows. I am running Windows 7 32 bit with 3GB of RAM and 132.4 GB free space. What is happening and is there a way to fix it?
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:56 am

Have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling C2 (download it again, just to be sure) ?
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:37 am

Have you tried disabling the start screen? Instructions on how to do this from Ashley can be found HERE.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,850
Reputation: 48,301

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:25 pm

I need a version which isn't free to do this
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:03 pm

I don't think that modifying a key in your registry base has anything to do with the kind of C2 license you own.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:56 pm

@briggybros does it do it with any .capx, or just one particular one? E.g. does it do it with files from the examples directory?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:33 pm

@Ashley The problem occurs when creating new .capx files and opening an example .capx
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:40 pm

@Kyatric I'm not sure of the file the directory is pointing to, the only place I can find preferences is in the engine. When trying to change preferences in the engine the 'Show start page on start up' is disabled and says 'Licensed only' next to it.
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:50 pm

Oh, I bet your graphics card drivers are out of date and are crashing when the layout view opens. Try updating your graphics card drivers and see if that fixes it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:55 pm

I'll try updating now, the driver date is 2007 :/
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests