Loading images on level load

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:06 pm

Hi Ash

Does Contruct always load all assets in the game on the initial game load?

I got this feedback from Ludei and wanted to check from your side about this. Is there a setting I don't know about?

* Try to load the resources once you need them (when loading a level for example) instead of loading all of them at the beginning. Unload them once you do not need them anymore (once the level is done).

superkew2012-08-06 15:06:35
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 189
Reputation: 4,270

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:25 pm

c2 does load the entire project at startup right now. As for unloading when not needed anymore afaik c2 handles all that stuff for you you cant change it
B
13
S
5
G
2
Posts: 306
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:02 pm

I think loading packages of assets aside from the initial load would be nice.
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:26 pm

ashley mentioned at some point making it only load what was needed in the current layout. Thatd be pretty nice
B
13
S
5
G
2
Posts: 306
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:51 pm

Currently C2 loads the entire project in to memory on startup and that's it, it doesn't release any as the game runs. A feature for this is on our todo list, but it is only generally necessary with *very* large projects. If this pertains to your other thread, the fact you are making level-sized images is the problem. Most games won't have any problem with loading everything on startup, if designed well.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,534

Post » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:53 am

Thanks Ash :)
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 189
Reputation: 4,270


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ad3L, Eisenhans, Floki and 6 guests