Loading screen? Dont know how

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:47 pm

Mind I asking if there's a system function that lets you do Loading screens wherein while objects are being loaded, a loading screen appears? DUH..... Most of the time, when going from one layout to another, it would be a transition. But I want it to be a loading screen, where its either just black with a bar at the bottom or something, or a picture with a percentage rising below.

So yeah, I don't see anything in the system events that could do this. Help?
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:35 pm

layouts load so fast that there's no point to a loading screen. You can make a fake one, but that's kind of useless... You don't need loading screens in construct.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:39 pm

Directly at start of the layout, throw up a loading screen (layer, whatever). Then, on next tick, start loading stuff that takes time.

That is of course if you have the game manually build the layout up, rather than have everything added at editing time.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:01 pm

Well, I wont need loading screens in all layouts. Just some special layouts like mini games, world map, etc. in my RPG.

But I guess, making a fake one is the best way. Loading screens gives more feel to the rpg thing you know.
B
10
S
5
G
8
Posts: 203
Reputation: 4,395

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:09 am

Really? I kinda prefer if it all is as seamless as possible. Loading delays just annoy the heck out of me.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 4:02 am

Loading screens give the player the illusion that the game is somehow superior. Case in point PopCap, crap.
B
3
G
3
Posts: 42
Reputation: 959

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:43 am

I dunno about that. Super Mario Galaxy lacks loading screens entirely. On the other hand, lots and lots of loading will make a player loathe them, case in point, the 2006 Sonic 360/PS3 game. Gamers generally prefer no loading screens at all.
B
94
S
37
G
11
Posts: 404
Reputation: 11,275

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 3:22 pm

I have a sort of related question. I made a loading screen to preload all of my music files to channels at the very beginning; if I load them at runtime, there is a noticeable "skip" in the action, so I wanted to eliminate that. I tried making a progress bar out of boxes that begin invisible, then turn visible as each file is loaded, so I load one file, flip a box to visible, then load the next, and so on. However, it didn't give the effect I wanted; all of the boxes stayed invisible through the entire process.

I guess it has something to do with the layout not redrawing, so is there a way to force it to redraw each time I want the progress bar to advance?
B
1
G
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 837

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 4:25 pm

The frame is drawn on every complete cycle of the event sheet. So if i understand you correctly, you'd want to do an
IF not all sounds are loaded - Load 1 sound, add 1 progress.

That should add 1 every frame.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:35 pm

Why would anyone want a loading screen that doesn't load anything?

Don't. Just don't.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests