Local global values

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:35 pm

When I have my value set as global, and compare it to whether it equals to 1, the code runs fine! However.. if I drag the value within the group (the group that I use the value in) the code event does not run, almost as-if the value wasn't equal to 1. I've tried this several time, and confirmed this is definitely the thing that's going wrong. Hope to see it fixed!

Thank-you!
B
17
S
4
G
5
Posts: 226
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:37 pm

Also when it's local the description doesn't display.



B
17
S
4
G
5
Posts: 226
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:48 pm

This really annoyed me, hours I spent trying to find the bug in my game when after all it was this. :[
B
17
S
4
G
5
Posts: 226
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:52 pm

Local variables reset their values to default every tick - this is by design, like local variables do in programming languages. Only global variables persist their values permanently (again, like programming languages).

I can see local variable descriptions OK here, maybe share your .capx?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:52 am

i had the same issue where i think i could have some local value that acted as a global for that group, also searched for a while:) so i guess its not the way to go
ImageImage
B
61
S
19
G
6
Posts: 809
Reputation: 9,028

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:59 pm

B
17
S
4
G
5
Posts: 226
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Thu Dec 08, 2011 6:07 pm

OK thanks, the disappearing comments issue should be fixed in the next build.Ashley2011-12-08 18:08:18
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest