Locked Out

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:33 pm

Things have not been going too good for me lately with my software. Yesterday I lost several hours of work when the file somehow got corrupted. I just added a few "unpin" events, and the project that I had worked on for a couple of weeks (many hours), would open, but it froze from that point forth. I had to shut down the computer, to get out of the project. I do not know what caused it. I thought I might have gone over my event limit, and I would have been happy to strip events out. But I could not access anything in the file. The only upside is that a huge amount of the time I invested went into the art and character development, and those files are fine. So I gave up and started a whole new layout for my project.
Fine I can deal with that. But just a little while ago I was moving the layers panel and let it go before docking. Now the top of the layers panel is off my computer screen altogether. Minimizing the program on the screen does nothing to move the panel, all the other panels float but the layers panel is stuck. So after not finding any way to reset the program layout, I completely uninstalled and reinstalled construct 2. No luck after completely removing and re downloading the software, the layers panel handle is still off screen. I put many many many hours into my project for the you tube contest. Unfortunately that is all lost. I cannot even get the computer to read the file backup I burned to dvd.
If anyone can tell me how to get the default set-up back, I would totally appreciate it, right now I'm so totally bummed. Not only have I lost a ton of work, bit I'm basically locked out, without access to the layers panel.
B
20
S
2
Posts: 257
Reputation: 2,431

Post » Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:09 pm

Try going to "Preferences" and pressing the "Reset Dialogs" button.
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:55 pm

Thank you very much!
I'm not really sure how I could have been so lame as to have missed that!
The upside of the problems I've encountered is that they finally prompted me to sign up over at dropbox to set up automatic saves, and get help here with forensics .
I very much appreciate your reply!
B
20
S
2
Posts: 257
Reputation: 2,431


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests