Lottes CRT shader conversion (couple of large images)

Share your Construct 2 effect files

Post » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:43 pm

@nicknick
Cool! Neat scene btw :)

@The Mnk
Did you remember to set "configuration settings - fullscreen scaling" to "high quality"?
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 542
Reputation: 7,617

Post » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:03 am

ErekT wrote:@nicknick
Cool! Neat scene btw :)

@The Mnk
Did you remember to set "configuration settings - fullscreen scaling" to "high quality"?


Thanks! That was the problem.
B
29
S
12
G
21
Posts: 783
Reputation: 14,417

Post » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:05 pm

ErekT wrote:Got around to having another go at this finally. I've only tested on my laptop but it should work with all resolutions. I also added a variable to control screen curvature.

You can apply this to layouts, layers or sprite objects if you want to. Just be sure to set width and height to whatever size your object is. For instance, if you're applying it to a layout you should set width and height to the game resolution. If you put it on a sprite then set it to the sprite's size.

It works best with pixel rounding turned on and fullscreen scaling on high quality.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/70562654/LottesCRT.zip


Hi there! Any chances to have this re-uploaded?

Thanks!
B
12
S
6
G
3
Posts: 102
Reputation: 3,937

Post » Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:11 am

Hello, I updated the first post with fresh links :)
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 542
Reputation: 7,617

Post » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:11 pm

Any idea if there's a way to have an on/off toggle for this effect so that in the off state fullscreen scaling would be low quality. The goal is to have the normal state of the game look like it's true 400x224 resolution.

The only solution I've thought of is to have separate executables for with effect and without :oops:
B
25
S
4
Posts: 52
Reputation: 1,287

Post » Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:43 pm

Easy :) Just toggle it with events:

Code: Select all
system   | set fullscreen scaling to low quality


Also, you shouldn't really need to run high quality scaling come to think of it. If you set the layout scale to 3 or even 2 then that should be enough fidelity for the shader to render properly. Just remember to increase canvas size to match i.e:

Code: Select all
System  |  Set layout scale to 2
System  |  Set canvas size to 400*2 x 224*2
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 542
Reputation: 7,617

Post » Sat Sep 16, 2017 10:03 am

That works, thanks. This is gonna add great value to my game.
One more thing:
Can this effect be applied to the whole project? (instead of adding it to each of the layouts)
B
25
S
4
Posts: 52
Reputation: 1,287

Post » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:58 am

Nope, as far as I know effects in general can't be applied to entire projects :/
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 542
Reputation: 7,617

Previous

Return to Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest