Low FPS on Android and IOS

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:51 am

Im developing a platformer game for Android and IOS.
Im testing it on a Galaxy S2 and Ipad 2 and using Cocoonjs.
In levels without enemies the game runs at 62 fps.
When I have 2 enemies on a level, the game goes to 40 fps or even lower...
The enemies have platform behavior and im really trying to simplify as much as possible...
Also, the game in lower devices like Xperia U and Iphone 4 runs at 40 fps even without enemies.
Please if anyone can help...

Thank you.
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:54 am

I guess if you are using Platform behaviors for multiple enemies would low FPS rate, i think you could make new events to create simple patrol to enemies without using platform behavior and test how FPS goes
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:02 am

how can I do that?
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:15 am

I don't have enough info how your enemies act.

Would you post a .capx?
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:19 am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8hx87j70v9p184m/print.png

I use platform behavior and when the enemy collides with the blue invisible box he changes direction and mirrors the sprite.
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:13 am

Well for starters Canvas on Android is just slow. Not all Canvas functions are even hardware accelerated. id on't know if C2 uses them or not, but based on that IOS usually does way better on performance I wouldn't be surprised.

If your going to go mobile development then you need to use CocoonJS. The launcher that you can download from AppStore/Play is easy to use. Performance is massivly better.
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:24 am

Im already using CocoonJS as I said in the first post.joelbelo2013-02-16 04:25:23
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:44 am

yep, I missed it :D

What is your resolution, scale, how many layers?
do you have a capx you can share?
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:00 am

Here is, i tested my iPod touch 4, i don't see 40 FPS anymore

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/76227787/platfromaicocoon.capx
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:10 pm

It's working! Thank you!
Now with 4 enemies I have 62 fps.
Now I have other problem.
I have a type of enemy that runs and falls (dont collides with invisible blocks).
And also, I have and pushable box that I use platform behavior also.
And it drops the fps a bit on the levels with that objects.
How can i fix this?
Thank you!
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: benajad, Braus, R0J0hound, shinkan and 26 guests