Mac (probably heard before)

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:08 pm

Hi out there,

I would like to know how you Macguys deal with this program?

I'd like to use it, but i just hate using my PC. . . I have tried Virtuel disktops and stuff like that, but i just don't feel like it's worth doing.

Could you recommend any proper solution for this?


Thank you very much

Zach
B
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 406

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:27 pm

I don't have a Mac, but I understand where you coming from. I think it's ironic that C2 which produces agnostic OS games is in itself not agnostic :D

Keep searching I'm sure I saw a thread about this and someone getting it running. Good luck :)
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:30 pm

Thank you Jayderyu!

I will keep searching, even though it's kinda though continuing.


Zach
B
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 406

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:33 pm

i am same and i had the same feeling like you , i thought of giving up on Construct 2 due to the reason it's not available in Mac. But i am glad i didn't do it because late i realized this great tool, company, friendly community, plugins, etc than anyone available currently for developing HTML5 games. i use Virtual Box VM with Windows 7 on a Mac , it has some short comings like screen refresh issues, CPU spike but overall it;s not bad and i am able to develop a decent full fledged game. You can also use Boot Camp to get native performance for graphics, but i prefer the choice of swiching back and forth between mac and window when i needed.

Also windows is not bad as long as u use it for only one purpose with few programs without bloating it with a lot.

Hope it helps !
B
16
S
4
Posts: 248
Reputation: 2,267

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:39 pm

Thank you Tringio!

It's exactly my feelings atm.

I'm wondering, how do i get virtuel box to work properly? Do you have any tuturial you can recommend?

- I'm not quite sure if i have to buy a copy of Windows, or i just run through boot on any other server somewhere?


Thank you very much.
B
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 406

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:59 pm

you need to get a copy of windows , virtual box installation is pretty simple just google it .

You can get a 90 days evaluation form here http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/jj554510.aspx , if u like it u can buy. you can also google it on how to mount the iso file in VirtalBox so that it can boot and install it.

you can also check in eBay or craigslist where people might be selling older versions of windows cheaper since Windows 8 is out now.
B
16
S
4
Posts: 248
Reputation: 2,267


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 14 guests