Manual Minification

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:39 am

Is there a way to minify my C2 output without using the built in option. For some reason my current game doesnt run when minified. :|
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:14 am

Mhhmm I would say you need to google for
"encrypt" or something. Minify isn´t really the right term I guess :-P
Image
Check out our start-up and configure your own helmet in true 3D.
B
44
S
11
G
11
Posts: 1,154
Reputation: 9,978

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:18 am

If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,386
Reputation: 58,454

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:32 pm

If it doesn't work minified then presumably there's some bug in the code and no other minifier will work either. If you're not using third party plugins you should report the issue as a bug.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:32 pm

@Ashley

Well its odd, if i create a new project then it works fine, but the game i have been working on for a while, which is nearly complete doesnt. This makes it difficult to report as a bug i guess.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:53 pm

@spongehammer :

the closure compiler (as it is called) is inside (where you installed construct 2)\Construct 2\exporters\html5\tools\closure , https://developers.google.com/closure/compiler/?hl=fr this may help you using it, or using another version of the minifyier (or the same with other settings) for the time being.

I do not know that much about it though, and at th end I hope you won't have to go into this routine each time.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:42 pm

Thanks for all the replies.

I dont really know enough about it to be honest so i have to take it as read what Ashley says. What does seem strange is that the closure compiler doesnt give any errors. The output just doesnt run. If i check the running processes then my game is running but there is nothing on the screen. I have also tried it on another machine, just the same.
I have to assume its something in my C2 project that it doesnt like although you would imagine it wouldnt run minified or not.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:29 pm

@Ashley

Just out of interest i tried installing R153 & R154. Minification works fine, as does my game under 153 but minification stops the game running under 154. I realise this probably isnt any help but like i said its not possible to post properly as a bug.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:30 pm

Are you using asm.js physics? That's known not to minify correctly.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:38 am

I am indeed :)

I have tried my project minified with Box 2Dweb and it does work minified which is good.

Last question then, is minification worth not using asm.js physics ?

Thanks
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,195


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tumira and 6 guests