Mapping the WASD Keys for Movement

Forum for plugin, effect and behavior programmers. Please use the Help & Support forum for help using Construct.

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:37 am

My character is using the 8-direction movement behavior but my users want to be able to use the WASD keys instead of the arrow keys. I myself, would also find this being very useful because my game requires the mouse also, which causes my users to reach over / under their other arm if they are a right handed person. This is a big issue! Please help! Thanks! :)
B
2
S
1
G
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 604

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:01 am

I'm pretty sure this gets asked and answered quite often.

Click outside the layout, so nothing is selected, now on the left side panel click Application: Properties - Scroll down to Controls if necessary - the rest should be self-explanatory.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:15 pm

Somebody.

I'm Sorry, but I didn't understood. I'm a noobie on this so please help me.With any of the layers selected I click outside the layout so nothing is selected. All right. Now is the problem: This left side is the "Properties" box? There is no "Application" icon on it. Where should I click? With the right or the left button of the mouse?
Can you help me?

Thank you,

Guilherme.
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 458

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm

PS:When I said "nothing" I mean "none of the Objects".
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 458

Post » Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:23 pm

Ok, here we go:

B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:46 pm

Thanks!!!
B
2
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 458

Post » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:13 pm

Is it possible to set key mappings at runtime?

Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
75
S
16
G
12
Posts: 322
Reputation: 11,608

Post » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:04 am

Thanks man, super helpful.
B
1
G
1
Posts: 1
Reputation: 527

Post » Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:43 am

Thank you! I was looking for that too :>
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 94
Reputation: 3,058

Post » Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:25 am

[QUOTE=Wastrel] Is it possible to set key mappings at runtime?

[/QUOTE]

http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-input-system-v096b-21-03-2011-keyb-mouse-joy_topic40990.html
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Next

Return to Construct engineering

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest