marching in step...(solved)

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
  • hello everyone,

my problem may exist simply because i may need global variables, or some other nuance as not yet included in c2. so i'm asking if any of you know as much to be true.

i have some enemy actors simulating 'space invader' movement. as they incrementally approach invisible barriers on either side of the screen, they are suppose to drop down in unison, and reverse course. i've got them to move incrementally, and to reverse course in unison, by sort of faking global variables, by creating the movement variables in the background sprite. but the enemies won't drop down in unison. only the enemy that 'collides' with the barrier actually moves down.

i suspect this is some kind of 'picking' issue. but i don't know much about picking rules. i'm still very new to the engine. so i would appreciate someone letting me know if i am just doing it wrong, or if it is something that has to wait for an update before i can complete it.

cap file... http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6707683/construct.../barney%20march%20test.capx

thanks for any help...

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Couldn't get the file to open. But here's what I'd do:.

Make another variable in the background. When one hits the wall, set it to one. Then have that variable equal to 1 Move down and reverse direction. Set to zero.

• sorry you could not open the cap. did i link the wrong file? is anyone else having a problem opening the cap?

instead of the fake 'global' variables i did, i'm going to try a sort of fake 'state' engine, which will be similar to what you suggested yar.

i'm going to have one text variable attached to the background sprite with the possible values of 'left, right, down' and i'll have different events for those values, which i hope 'all' of the enemy sprites will obey...in unison.

thanks for the suggestion...