Mask effect

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:22 pm

[quote="Madster":603id9nn]thanks for the examples, the first one did it.
Seems I wasn't getting any results because the erase object needs to be on top of the other objects (duh!) and works within a single layer.

:D this will be useful, I'm sure... I plan to use it to mask shadows out of an occluded object![/quote:603id9nn]

Yeah it can certainly do that, I was considering it in the other thread, but the way things are heading for me, i don't think I'll have the resources for even more objects lol.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:36 pm

Hey, just trying to figure out these effects too. The examples you posted above aren't working. When i open the file, Construct says out of memory or gives me an error.

Can you make another example for me?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 52
Reputation: 954

Post » Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:37 pm

[quote="feeblethemighty":1s4o02qa]Hey, just trying to figure out these effects too. The examples you posted above aren't working. When i open the file, Construct says out of memory or gives me an error.

Can you make another example for me?[/quote:1s4o02qa]

Update to the newest version and they'll work then.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:21 am

Hey, so i figured out how to use the mask effect.

Make two layers and put a graphic on the bottom one which you want to show through. Then on the top one, put whatever you want to use as the mask. Then click the top layer, add the mask effect and voila!

Thing is, it seems to not refresh. If i move anything on the top layer, it leaves a trail. Anyone care to take a crack at this?

EDIT: Here's a look at a game i'm making with my first attempt at using the mask effect. The bottom layer is just a gradient and the top layer has all the sprites. See how it makes trails? How do you stop this?

EDIT 2: Oh, i just achieved the same effect by putting the gradient on the top layer and using the Additive effect.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 52
Reputation: 954

Post » Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:48 am

I'm getting the same problem, the mask is not refreshing, so it leaves trails!

Has anyone succeeded in doing this right?!
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:36 am

UP! :lol:

But really... I need to know if this is a bug or a normal feature (i'm thinking of using it along with Canvas object to paste the mask effect and make it work by myself)...
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:57 pm

I recall from somewhere that checking "Force own texture" on the layer props will solve rendering bugs with the Mask effect as well as a couple of others.

I can't be arsed to try right now, I just woke up and I haven't had my coffee yet.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:28 pm

Thanks for the reply, deadeye!

Well, "Force own texture" was there, but it had no effect on the trail problem...

Thanks for the tip! Have a nice breakfast! ;)
B
107
S
40
G
10
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,202

Post » Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:36 pm

No need to thank me if it didn't work.

Post your .cap so someone can help figure out what's wrong.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests