Math question

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:24 am

I'm a math teacher and I use Construct to make excercises for my students. The one big problem I encounter is a good display of fractions.

If I want to display 1/4 in a manner with the 1 above the 4, I have to make a line and two different textboxes or Underline the 1.
Both these options aren't really perfect and also do not look to good.

Anybody any idea how to do this in a more ellegant way??

Thanx!
B
S

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:41 pm

Maybe a customised sprite font (ie replace all the capital letters with fractions ? So when you type "A" you would get the "" ? You would be limited on how many fractions you could use.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
S
G

Post » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:38 pm

It might be easiest to have 2 text boxes surrounding a sprite for the bar.

then you can account for any fraction question.
B
S
G

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:13 pm

If you are still interested in this let me know because I've had another idea...(after about 2 hours in I am maybe 10% there ! Been distracted by other (easier) problems !)
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
S
G

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:09 am

I'm open to every idea.

The idea to replace letters with a fraction had crossed my mind, but it would be limited, since I would have to make all the existing fractions if I want to use them all. And since there are an unlimited number of fractions........