Max # of layers in a layout

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:22 pm

I'm planning to "cheat" the 2D nature of C2 using scaled layers to simulate a 3D room looking top-down. I'm using the personal version of C2, so I know I'm not limited to four layers, but I'm curious as to how many layers I can use before I may start noticing problems. I also understand this may certainly vary per computer and other factors (ie: assets in the project, mobile platform vs PC). I'm just looking for some general info to be mindful of.

Thanks!
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
139
S
22
G
8
Posts: 777
Reputation: 14,830

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:41 pm

Quote from Ashley:

Layers have no performance impact unless you change the layer opacity, blend mode, enable "force own texture", or add WebGL effects. Otherwise there is no reason for layers to reduce performance.


So basically, what you do with the Layers is the main factor.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,387
Reputation: 58,456

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:20 pm

That'll work! Thank you, @zenox98 and @Ashley from the past!
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
139
S
22
G
8
Posts: 777
Reputation: 14,830


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BackendFreak, blackhornet, rayolaser, rbailey83 and 17 guests