Maze Manor on Google Chrome

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:05 am

Thanks for the suggestion Wink, but I ended up using Debut. Feel free to check out the video cut down of Maze Manor. I just finished editing and posting it an hour ago.

Direct Link:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/mjjcfjkkmchjkolljhofkbgkdookokgk

or just search for Maze Manor on the chrome web store
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:34 am

B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:39 am

Nice video Bert. It looks like a fun game. But I already decided a few days ago that I was going to buy your game based on the description, and screen shots this pay day. I try to buy one construct 2 made game every pay day. Wink2012-02-16 07:02:45
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:21 pm

Thanks Wink
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:16 am

This is a really fun game and I was happy to pay the small price to support game developers and Scirra.

However, I've got a puzzling bug I can't figure out. I can play the game just fine, but the screen size is 600px wide and 800 high. I can't be sure of the height because my laptop only goes to 768 height. The width of my screen is 1024.

This would really be a problem with a netbook, which only goes to 600 height. Any way to make it full screen?

Any clues? How did you specify the size and orientation of the view into the app? I'm brand new to Scirra, so I may not be using the exact terms.

Again, very cool game and very exciting to see it on Google Chrome! I think HTML5 is the future.
Check out my HTML5 Firefox OS Game Programming and Game Playing blog at http://firefoxosgaming.blogspot.com/ and my book on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZUYIGO. I wrote a newer post on using Construct for Firefox OS at http://firefoxosgaming.blogspot.com/201 ... -game.html.
B
16
S
4
G
4
Posts: 181
Reputation: 3,837

Post » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:30 pm

Thanks Bob! I'm so glad you liked it. The game is 640x960 pixels it was designed for the iphone4(still waiting on scirra to fix some stuff so I can make it for mobiles). I realize the pop out game window is large and some laptops might not be able to see that size. That is why I included the basic window zoom in/out key commands in the description on the Chrome store.

To zoom out simply press CTRL- on a PC or COMMAND- on a MAC.

With this you can set the size to your liking.

Also please give me a good review on the chrome store, and thank you for supporting the small guys like us!
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:37 pm

Also setting the screen size in C2 is very easy, and you can even have it stretch to fit(which is great for mobiles), but if I set mine to stretch to fit the screen get messed up if the user makers the window an extreme size(example 10x1024), so I went with the games native size(that I choose) 640x960.

To set this for your game simply select the project top folder and in the properties there are settings for the window size.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:14 am

[QUOTE=Bert] Also setting the screen size in C2 is very easy, and you can even have it stretch to fit(which is great for mobiles), but if I set mine to stretch to fit the screen get messed up if the user makers the window an extreme size(example 10x1024), so I went with the games native size(that I choose) 640x960.

To set this for your game simply select the project top folder and in the properties there are settings for the window size.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for the quick answer. The keyboard command works perfectly.

Interesting problem. I wonder if the user could pick screen sizes dynamically?

Anyway, I gave you an good review and I'm looking forward to the Android version.

One thing I wonder about. I'm still working through the first tutorial, but I wonder if you can move in a grid of, say, 32x32 pixels. Moving pixel by pixel lets me get stuck too often.

Check out my HTML5 Firefox OS Game Programming and Game Playing blog at http://firefoxosgaming.blogspot.com/ and my book on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZUYIGO. I wrote a newer post on using Construct for Firefox OS at http://firefoxosgaming.blogspot.com/201 ... -game.html.
B
16
S
4
G
4
Posts: 181
Reputation: 3,837

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:20 pm

I would imagine that you could. It would probably have to be done with some kind of expression. I had to make a bunch of crazy one's for my game and I am no programmer, so don't get overwhelmed with expressions. C2 makes them pretty easy to do. I would guess it would be something like this:

when you press left arrow = player.X(+32)
               right arrow = player.X(-32)
               up arrow = player.Y(-32)
               down arrow = player.Y(+32)

player would be the name of the sprite you want to move. That sprite would probably need a behavior so it would go threw other solids. Solid might work or a 8way movement with the default controls set to NO.

Also you mentioned getting stuck. You won't get stuck on walls(solid) if they are position exactly next to each other with the collision set to bounding box on them. In other would don't leave little jaggy edges on your walls.

Also Thank you for the review it was well written! I'm sure you bought the game because you can only write a review after you buy it, but for some reason I can't find your info on the merchant end of google. I think that the chrome store may be on a bit of a delay or just plain buggy. Would you mind telling me the name of the email it was purchased under? This is just me debuggy google.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:29 pm

I'm not sure about the screen size question, but after your trouble with my game I started setting up a key commands page for Maze Manor that will display at the start of the game(in case people didn't notice it on the chrome store)Thanks again for the positive constructive input. Maybe an onscreen button that will grow and shrink the screen(simple sending the ctrl+or- key commands)
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests