Menus

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:25 pm

Does anyone know the best way to create menus that use the controller or keyboard inputs.

Example:
up, down, left, right to scroll through menu options
A to select, B to cancel or go back to the previous menu

If it helps I was thinking of separating each menu screen (main menu, options, extras, player select, etc.) with their own layout and have the "goto layout" action when the corresponding menu option is selected.
B
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 418

Post » Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:14 pm

So here's a list that I pretty much refer to all the time, it has some examples in the HUD section that I think can give you a good idea of the different things people do.

Construct Tutorials List

Here are a couple favourites:

This is a very simple but effective menu screen:

http://69.24.73.172/scirra/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2178

And here is a tutorial:

http://69.24.73.172/scirra/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9465

Hope these help :)
B
7
S
2
Posts: 123
Reputation: 1,061

Post » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:30 pm

Thank you sir.

You are a nice guy
B
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 418

Post » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:42 am

Thanks. My menu system works perfectly. I was even able to create a character selection system using the exact same the principle.

I didn't see a tutorial for how to do a pause menu in that tutorial list (maybe I over looked it).

Is there a tutorial for that floating around?
B
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 418

Post » Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:25 am

I haven't actually had to do this one myself, but I remembered reading about it on the Construct Wiki.

Here's the page if you're interested:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/construct/index.php?title=Time_Scaling

and the relevant excerpts:

Setting a time scale

Use the system action 'Set timescale'. A value of 1.0 corresponds to normal time. A value of 0.5 means time in the game passes at half the normal rate.

Pausing

Set the time scale to 0 and the game will come to a halt, since game-time is frozen. However, the framerate is not affected, and events continue to run. This can allow you to control a pause-menu or allow other commands to be carried out while the game is paused.


Seems pretty easy! With your newfound menu skills you can probably come up with a decent pause-menu as well.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 123
Reputation: 1,061

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:28 pm

Thats real nice to know. Thanks again.RandomDood2012-10-11 20:28:58
B
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 418


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests