Merge projects?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:18 am

thanks....it worked for me too !!
Udain Tomar
Game Designer
B
6
S
1
Posts: 34
Reputation: 695

Post » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:08 pm

[QUOTE=cjuliao] it WORKED! whoohoo!! (?)

many thanks again


for those who may be running into the same issues
heres the sequence of what worked for me:

1. Create New Layouts in the Project you want to merge into.
These will be your duplicate layouts from the project your merging from
(i was unsuccessful with simply dragging them over from one project to the other)

2. copy/paste your objects FROM the LAYOUTS FIRST as Ashley indicated.

3. be sure to create objects like mouse, audio, as well as sounds & music (they cannnot be copied by simply selecting the objects from the Layout)

3. Create New Event Sheets in the project you want to copy over to.

4. copy/paste the events to the NEW event sheets you just created.

5. cross your fingers & RUN your new Layouts/Events.[/QUOTE]
Awesome, btw sounds are automagically copied
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:57 pm

Well ... I never got issues with this one , just be sure to copy every object to the other layout ... and then it's easy ...
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:39 am

@Ashley I am getting a "Failed to paste: the data on the clipboard does not appear to be valid." error.

I Ctrl -A on one one layout in a different project and then I ctrl-v paste it into my other project. Error.

C2 needs a merge function urgently otherwise it is very difficult to collaborate with other developers.

We need some development functions that make it easier to create and maintain projects.

B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:43 am

@Ashley I figured it out.

If you copy and paste an object that also appears in both layouts you get the error.

Also layers are not presevred.

Please make a merge function.

I tried even merging by hand copying the XML across etc that did not work either.

czar2013-03-28 01:49:46
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:18 pm

@ashley - can we expect improved collaboration support?
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Thu May 02, 2013 1:04 pm

I agree with czar.

@ashley: Pretty please with sugar on top?
B
2
G
1
Posts: 1
Reputation: 300

Post » Thu May 02, 2013 1:56 pm

@czar, @RutgerCB - it should already be possible, see How to collaborate on projects with SVN
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:12 pm

Yay it worked! Been looking for this for days! thanks :)
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:04 pm

@ashley @cjuliao is there any way to do this and maintain the layers from your layout? other than copy & pasting 1 at a time???

Thanks!!
Last edited by Mubot on Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,279

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests