Minecraft 2D terrain Generator

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:42 am

I'm currently working on a minecraft 2D. I have done everything except the random terrain generation. Can someone help me or send a already finished terrain generator. I would like the generator to include caves but if u are not capable of Doing it, u don't have to. I am usin Construct 2, so all the Construct Classic files's won't work with me. Thank u very much for donating ur time for reading this.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 532

Post » Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:59 am

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/360/generating-a-random-tile-map ?
Using R238 for all examples
B
60
S
17
G
6
Posts: 363
Reputation: 9,125

Post » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:18 pm

... I can't believe im that stupid to not search in the tutorials.
Anyways, thanks for the link!
B
4
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 532

Post » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:31 pm

This method won't get you caves or anything realistic. You might want to have a look at my game Go Faster which involves this type of terrain. You can download the capx from the game page.

Keep in mind that this is not a recommended project if you are a beginner. Anything involving randomly generated terrain can get very complex very fast.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:13 pm

Hey!! You game is pretty cool! I also have a problem. The .capx file u gave me wont work on my version. I can't open it because im not updated to the Premium Version. :(. Im really not planning to buy the full version but it would help if u gave me some pics or a summary of what u did. U dont have to if u dont wanna, though. Thanks!!
B
4
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 532

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:58 am

It'd be greatly appreciated if someone could please explain how to do this. I am also using the free version of Construct 2 and would like to make a game a 2D Minecraft. I have previously posted this, actually. There needs to be more feedback. I've already got a pretty wicked generating scheme that works well, but it makes to many instances and overloads decent computers. It doesn't lag bad when the maps are small, but if I try to generate a large map it takes more than five to ten minutes.
If someone can help us out, thank you!
B
4
Posts: 63
Reputation: 701

Post » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:03 pm

Hehe, cool!
B
4
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 532

Post » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:28 am

As I said, it's something very complex. You need to be very comfortable with arrays and maths.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:44 pm

Search for it , I remember seeing a terraria like generator not long ago ...
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:24 am

I already did.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 16
Reputation: 532

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: R0J0hound, randomly, Yahoo [Bot] and 25 guests