Mini Map and Layouts In Layouts

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:19 pm

but then it will look out of place compaird to the rest of the ui.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:56 pm

Why?
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:54 pm

Couldn't you put the minimap in the layout you want it to map and use a layout object to display that layout?
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 7:13 pm

I can't see the image posted earlier but I think I get what he wants to do...

He wants a layout object for a "pause screen" of sorts that shows the minimap for the game window. Am I correct?

If so, here's how I recommend you do it:

Put the pause layout object on the second layer from the top. Put the minimap on the top layer. Always hide the minimap, until your pause layout is visible.

I just tested it and it works fine. If that's not what you were intending then, uh... good luck :P
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:34 pm

No thats not what I want. I'll upload a cap soon.

I want the minimap to show layout 2.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:00 pm

I wouldn't use a layout-in-layout thing... instead, add another layer on top of layout 2, set its scroll rates to 0, put GUI elements onto it as well as the minimap. You can play on Layout 2 then.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:48 pm

but then units would be able to move behind GUI.

I'm making an rts.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 69
Reputation: 1,188

Post » Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:20 pm

[quote="cheatking":3p3v6t1g]but then units would be able to move behind GUI.

I'm making an rts.[/quote:3p3v6t1g]
So you want them.... paused?
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:04 am

I think what he's after is for the HUD to look like it's a separate screen to the game screen, without anything on the game screen able to go behind the HUD, so it looks like the game screen is the only part scrolling.

If that's what you're after, then I'd avoid the layout in layout approach too, and us the "top layer for HUD" approach as mentioned above.
Then add dead space to the bottom of your game screen, so that the action can't scroll down to that area, and when you've scrolled down to the bottom of your layout, it will look like the visible area that your characters have reached are the end of the layout.

So, if you have a HUD that 100 pixels high, make sure you have nothing for the bottom 100 pixels of your layout, and make sure that your moving objects can't move onto it.

Hope I explained that well enough. :D

Sponge.
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 105
Reputation: 1,310

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests