Minify on Export & Sound Inquiries

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 7:55 pm

Hello,

I have recently downloaded Construct Classic and then thought I would try Construct2. I made a very small game (just to learn) and it ran fine in the browser but when I attempt to export, it says it is unable to run the script minifier. I have the latest version of Java installed so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Also, my single music file runs before export; will loop indefinitely in IE and run only once in Firefox (?)but after uploading to server and calling the page in the browser, no sound! Hmmm...

Hope I'm posting in the proper place...

Thanks for any suggestions. Have a nice day!
B
5
S
1
G
2
Posts: 45
Reputation: 1,315

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:02 pm

Browser sound support is pretty buggy at the moment - it should improve soon.

Are you on 64-bit Windows? If you visit Java.com in a 32-bit browser it installs the 32-bit Java... but Construct 2 looks for the 64-bit Java. You can install 64-bit Java here. (Bit of a silly situation, but not sure there's anything we can do.)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:22 pm

Hi Ashley,

Wow, thanks for the quick response! Yes, I'm running on a 64-bit Windows system and sure enough, you were correct in assuming that my 32-bit browser was running a 32-bit version of Java! Aren't you just so smart! Must be why you have the word "Developer" at the end of your name!

I downloaded from the link you provided and sure enough my teensy weensy game exported without the message! Maybe a notation somewhere in the program (or at the C2 download link) would be beneficial for new users.

I hope the sound issues get ironed out real soon. Kinda like watching an awesome movie at the theater without any sound (an no closed caption)!

Thanks so much...I see a full version purchase/upgrade in my very near future.

Thanks again!
B
5
S
1
G
2
Posts: 45
Reputation: 1,315

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:07 pm

Heh, well, I had exactly that issue on my new 64 bit dev machine.

[QUOTE=MeJustMe]Maybe a notation somewhere in the program (or at the C2 download link) would be beneficial for new users.[/QUOTE]
Good idea. I've changed the message on the 64 bit build to remind that you need the 64-bit version.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:25 pm

Ashley,

Aww, you're being just too modest! I have to say that your quick response really sold me on the support so I am now the proud new owner of C2 full version!

Now if I could just find my brand new shiny gold forum badge with the green striped ribbon. It must be around here, somewhere!

Thanks again, Ashley. Do you ever take a break??

B
5
S
1
G
2
Posts: 45
Reputation: 1,315

Post » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:58 pm

If you didn't get your badge send an email with your Paypal transaction ID and username to licensehelp@scirra.com
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,887

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:15 pm

So, my issue with the minify on export was resolved posthaste by Ashley's suggestion, thanks again Ashley! I know there is an issue with sound but I was wondering....

You guys have a link posted on site for a 7 part youtube tutorial on creating a game called 1945. I believe in part 6 the creator talks about inserting the browser object but then gets sidetracked on something else and never comes back to it. While creating my first game using the concepts in the tutorials I have looked over thus far, the browser object is not mentioned or inserted in any of them so I have nothing to reference which left me wondering; would there be a way to work around the "no sound at all" issue by using something within the browser object since the audio object and loop event currently do not yield any sound in IE or Firefox?

I've tried searching the forum with the words browser object and all things similar but haven't found anything that answers my question yet, I don't know, maybe my attention span wanes before I search through enough pages to find it.

Any thoughts are most appreciated and thanks in advance!MeJustMe2011-09-21 19:32:43
B
5
S
1
G
2
Posts: 45
Reputation: 1,315

Post » Fri May 23, 2014 6:03 am

@Ashley it may be worth linking to the "manual" Java page (http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp) in both the program and on the site here: https://www.scirra.com/manual/127/export-project otherwise people will have to search for this topic in order to install the correct version when they wonder why Java isn't working. Especially since there are many users who use 64 bit Windows. (I hadn't been using the Minify export feature for a long time because despite installing Java from the link you give in C2 it never seemed to work.)
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GUN, LeFuji and 19 guests