Minimap for Random Dungeon

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:04 pm

How could it be done? On every other aspect of randomization I've got it down. I know exactly how I want to have my dungeons generate, but I need a map to chart rooms as you discover them. Think "Binding of Isaac" style of dungeon and map.

Is this too big of a question? If someone knows how to do it, just let me know, but if you have some ideas, maybe you could just point me in the right direction, since I also kind of want to figure it out for myself, at least partially.
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1,486

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:11 pm

Definitely possible. check this sample by R0J0hound for generating random "rooms", maybe it'll help you:
http://www.scirra.com/forum/roguelike-map-system-untiled_topic51967_post327292.html#327292
B
64
S
12
G
6
Posts: 456
Reputation: 9,015

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:18 pm

[QUOTE=teacherpeter] I also kind of want to figure it out for myself, at least partially.[/QUOTE]

How about layer scale (depending on how you are displaying your world) ?

Have fun.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:43 pm

Interesting. This is pretty much exactly what I did to get my random dungeon.

I still need to know how to make it save the "room" left behind as it enters a new room, so it can be returned to.

Right now the entire game is one layout. That layout is a room that generates doors, hazards, and monsters, but I need the doors to lead to a new instance of that same layout, which will randomize again, and so on. If I can figure out how to get from one layout to another, and save all previous layouts, then I'd basically have this game in the bag.
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1,486

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:19 pm

[quote]Right now the entire game is one layout. That layout is a room that generates doors, hazards, and monsters, but I need the doors to lead to a new instance of that same layout, which will randomize again, and so on. If I can figure out how to get from one layout to another, and save all previous layouts, then I'd basically have this game in the bag.[/quote]

Use a Global variable called RoomNumber to keep track of what room you are in.

When you exit a room do:
System->Save game to slot "Room" & RoomNumber

Then increase/decease RoomNumber based on which door you leave

When you reload the layout do:

System->Load game to slot "Room" & RoomNumber

If there is a previously saved room, it will load it otherwise it will return condition On load failed in which case generate a new random room (which you should save once created, not just on leaving)
Find all the Construct 2 games that were on Steam Greenlight here
B
36
S
10
G
7
Posts: 478
Reputation: 7,021

Post » Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:47 pm

Thank you, this should do nicely!
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1,486

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:33 am

I'm trying to implement this now, I can't get the save/load function to do anything. Furthermore, I don't understand the string "room" and the variable RoomNumber. Why do I need two of them to be saved?
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1,486

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:45 pm

You need more than one if you want to save the previously generated dungeon. Each save game will basically save that particular randomly generated dungeon. That way you can go back to previous ones if would like.
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,603

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:15 am

So when I exit the room I save the game twice? And why is one in "" and one isn't? One is a string and one is a variable? What does that do, though? I understand I need the game to save my rooms every time I exit, but I just don't understand what's being said to me, honestly. What I really need is for someone to talk down to me and break it down as simply as they can. This is like Week 2 for me having this software.
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 172
Reputation: 1,486

Post » Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:30 pm

This is a super fascinating topic, can someone post a working CAPX to show the theory? I understand what you're trying to do but I have no idea how to build it myself. I'd love to see the guts if someone is willing to slap something together :)
B
12
S
4
G
2
Posts: 132
Reputation: 1,749

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: warmty and 9 guests