Mirror Sprite Based on dx?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Advanced inventory mechanics for your RPG game (Array-based). Take Items, split them, pick up them, read the description
  • Hi!

I am brand new to Construct2, and am having a hard time wrapping my head around how to correctly access instance variables (perhaps this is the wrong word).

I have an done everything as suggested in the 2d platformer tutorial, and it works, after a fashion, but it doesn't suit my needs.

When changing direction, I want to set the Mirrored flag based on velocity. I hear this is dx. That makes sense. I cannot find how to check this variable. In a perfect world there would be a transition from running right->changing direction/slowing down->running left and vice versa based on dx (and other things like IsOnFloor or what have you).

So how do I do this? I've figured out how to check to see if something ELSE is >= to dx, but not if dx is <= 0. Please tell me I don't have to make a 0 CONST and check my CONST to see if IT is greater than dx.

I need it spelled out.

--Frustrated, and graciously awaiting your help.

• Perhaps if the player is moving left but holding right, you would have a skidding animation?

Is this what you mean?

I'm not sure about velocity but if your character has a lot if momentum, you could just check if you are holding left when moving right and vice-versa.

• yes, but my very newbie question is how do I check to see in which direction the character is moving?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • dx is called VectorX in the platform object. The expression you need is:

Sprite.Platform.VectorX

'Sprite' refers to the name of object with the platform behaviour. Then 'Platform' refers to the behaviour and 'VectorX' to the change in X direction. Also, you can always take a look at the platform behaviour in the manual.

• Thanks for the reply!