Missing image/object during Run

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:46 am

Problem Description
I initially went to Run a layout and it brought up that error message. Previously, everything was working as normal. I closed out the program and restarted it. When I clicked on my file at the top of the "Recent Projects" list, the same error came up.

Attach a Capx
Attached. Initially it did not seem to be related to the specific Capx, but a subsequent message after trying to proceed appears to the contrary. I'm not entirely sure what went wrong or how.

Description of Capx
Using the Shadow Casting behavior, I'm working on a twist to the classic maze games.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Unsure. I was using everything as normal.

Observed Result
I cannot open a Capx I was working on earlier.

Expected Result
To be able to open and run my Capx.

Affected Browsers
N/A

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 Service pack 1

Construct 2 Version ID
r174
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
142
S
24
G
8
Posts: 791
Reputation: 15,148

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:49 am

Hopefully you have your autobackup/autosave setup, as the .capx is totally broken. There are 3 missing folders in the project, so there is no chance of recovering it.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
86
Posts: 5,488
Reputation: 59,762

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:41 pm

I'm afraid the project cannot be recovered, it is entirely missing all animations and all image files. Hopefully you had Construct 2 set up to save backups in several places.

There's nothing we can do about this unless you can reproduce it or provide at least some kind of hint as to what caused it. I cannot conceive of any reason Construct 2 would delete all that data - we have coded the save routines very carefully specifically to avoid this kind of problem.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,529
Reputation: 195,390

Post » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:20 pm

Understood. Thank you for the info.
The only other thing that comes to mind that might have caused a problem is the fact that I had the file open in C2 during a defrag session. I didn't mess with the file (save or otherwise) during that time.

I do have a backup file saved, but I don't know how to use it to restore my work...
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
142
S
24
G
8
Posts: 791
Reputation: 15,148


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests