MM_Preloader (layout preloader) (Plugins)

Discuss Scirra's 2D Asset Store

Post » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:18 am

@BackendFreak
HI ! I am both C2 and C3 user, but v1.3 plugin on store is the old one, no c3 plugin in it ...
B
10
S
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 652

Post » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:24 am

RetroDaddy wrote:@BackendFreak
HI ! I am both C2 and C3 user, but v1.3 plugin on store is the old one, no c3 plugin in it ...


Hi @RetroDaddy

The c3addons are submitted to Scirra Store but they need a manual approval from Scirra employee. Today is a bank holiday in UK so I believe Scirra had a long weekend that's why it's not approved yet. I expect all c3addons to be approved tomorrow so please be patience and check for an update tomorrow.

Thanks!
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:41 pm

Hi @CrK,

I've investigated the capx from the JS level step by step and indeed there was an issue in detecting if an object was already preloaded or not in certain cases.

I've already submitted a fixed version (v1.4) to the Scirra Store. I expect the files to be approved and available to download by tomorrow.

Please give it a try with new version tomorrow and if you'll find any other issues just let me know.

Thanks a lot for reporting this one!
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:40 pm

BackendFreak wrote:I've investigated the capx from the JS level step by step and indeed there was an issue in detecting if an object was already preloaded or not in certain cases.

I've already submitted a fixed version (v1.4) to the Scirra Store. I expect the files to be approved and available to download by tomorrow.


Great, I'm glad you managed to find and fix the issue. I would love to give it a try too but still no v1.4 on the store..
B
17
S
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 967

Post » Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:57 pm

CrK wrote:Great, I'm glad you managed to find and fix the issue. I would love to give it a try too but still no v1.4 on the store..


I know :/. I have no idea why it takes so long. I already wrote an email to Scirra support. Hope they'll approve the files soon. Sorry for the delay, nothing much I can do except "rushing" Scirra guys withan email.
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:28 am

BackendFreak wrote:I know :/. I have no idea why it takes so long. I already wrote an email to Scirra support. Hope they'll approve the files soon. Sorry for the delay, nothing much I can do except "rushing" Scirra guys withan email.


Yeah I know it's not up to you don't worry. Funny thing is it took much less for you to do all the stuff and fix it than them to approve the file :roll:
But hey I'm not complaining just wanted to let you know I hadn't the chance to try it yet. :)
B
17
S
4
Posts: 10
Reputation: 967

Post » Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:28 am

MM_Preloader v1.4 is now available to download both for C2 and C3.
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:24 pm

Some users reported issues with downloading the example capx from Scirra servers so I've uploaded to my Gmail Drive.

Example capx download
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:37 am

Hi @BackendFreak ,

I would like to ask you something, just to be sure I’m using your tool correctly.
Here’s the context:

Layout 1 has not the object BG1 on it.
Layout 2 has not the object BG1 on it either, but BG1 is created in the event sheet, on start of layout.

What’s the correct way to have BG1 preloaded so that I have a smooth transition from layout 1 to layout 2, and no stop at the start of layout 2?

- Preload in layout 1? (then maybe BG1 is unloaded when going to layout 2 as it’s not present on that layout)
- Preload at the start of layout 2? In this case does the plugin make a difference from simply creating the object on start of layout?

Thanks for your help! :)
B
32
S
6
G
1
Posts: 353
Reputation: 2,821

Post » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:04 pm

Rable wrote:- Preload in layout 1? (then maybe BG1 is unloaded when going to layout 2 as it’s not present on that layout)

Yes it will be unloaded by C2 engine transition system, so this approach will not work as you suspected.

Rable wrote:- Preload at the start of layout 2? In this case does the plugin make a difference from simply creating the object on start of layout?

One of solutions would be to make not a layout transition preloader but layout initialization preloader. Technically it's the same, the difference is when and how you trigger it.

Layout transition preloader you start at the end of previous layout and then you jump to the next layout having everything preloaded.

Layout initialization preloader you start at the beginning of the layout and you preload/initialize anything that does not exist on the layout yet but will be spawned during runtime. In this case you most likely want to enable the Stabilizer to ensure that everything is smooth when you hide the preloading layer.

The difference from just spawning the objects as you do right now is that by just spawning them, you will notice the lag, while with preloader you can show the progress of loading and you can preload elements further used in this layout (like bullets, etc.).

You can also combine a Layout transition and layout initialization preloaders.

BUT
Spawning the element at "On start of layout" instead of having them on the layout sounds like a not the best solution. I suggest to just put the item on the layout and use regular Layout transition preloader. Otherwise you will probably have to preload both before and after the layout starts.

Hope that helps, if you have any further questions just let me know ;)
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

PreviousNext

Return to Scirra Store

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests