mobile game Portrait/Lanscape Question

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun May 05, 2013 8:27 pm

hey

this might be silly question, but i'm new to mobile development and this little details got me confused a bit.

I want to design game oriented towards Portrait view on mobile devices.
when I tried it with cocoonJS Ipad app, by default it gives me landscape view if I have vertical setup (smaller width/larger height).

like this
====
=|==
=V==
====

this starts up in Ipad as landscape application in cocoonJS app.

then i made my app logic and layout horizontal
==========
=->>======
==========

but I wanted to know if this is how you are supposed to design portrait apps or is there some option in construct or beyond construct where you can set how Portrait layout can be oriented within app?hellwalker2013-05-05 20:28:14
B
24
S
7
G
3
Posts: 138
Reputation: 2,795

Post » Sun May 05, 2013 9:37 pm

At least on exporting to phonegap you can choose if you want portrait or landscape or both.
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2,319

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 2:06 am

@roke that's not right what he wants PhoneGap, he's using cocoonJS.

Don't worry, CocoonJS can lock orientation, you can go to cocoonjs settings to set orientation lock, if you export, in cocoonjs cloud, you can choose orientation lock before to compile.
B
96
S
34
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,236

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 9:28 am

I already face this problem and finally I solve my problem by own. Let me tell you, If your game play and design I mean the layout design set to Left to Right Landscape then in CooconJS select Landscape Left to right and if your game design is bottom to top and the layout is Portrait then in cooconjs select only portrait, that's all. I believe this helps you.
B
8
Posts: 16
Reputation: 377

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 9:45 am

thank you very much! this helps.
B
24
S
7
G
3
Posts: 138
Reputation: 2,795

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 2:08 pm

Ah that sounds good about cocoonjs, maybe I'll try cocoonjs again when they start selling premium accounts, or make them easily available.
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2,319

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 3:54 pm

@roke, it took me about 2 weeks to get my premium account. Might as well get it while its free to try it out
B
41
S
17
G
8
Posts: 483
Reputation: 8,259

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 8:34 pm

Yeah, I'll look into it.
B
7
S
2
G
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 2,319


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmpedRobot, Google [Bot], Pariunos, sanderstyler and 2 guests