Modular Codebase

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:34 am

(Answered: Families!)
Kind of a dashing first topic. May be a lack of my pre-planning that is the cause for this question so here goes.

I am building a game that uses resources and inventory. For my question I will use a in game example a pine tree.
My tree has Branches, Pine Cones, Leaves, Boughs, Trunk, Sap, Roots and
My tree has 3 animation states: 1 Happy tree, 2 partially pillaged thinned out tree and third, completely devoid of resource - stump. My tree respawns on a 30 minute timer.

My question is this.
I built my tree as its own event sheet and now I am ready to make a sycamore tree. How can I streamline that process as I expect to have 24 tree types 24 mineral types and 24 shrubs etc etc.

I tried to build my tree as its on "module" of sorts I am wondering if I can tie this sprite / eventsheet / object and system info into a bigger "map" module? IE if theres a bug with tree I know where to find it or if I need to rebuild my floor map I can do that without stripping down my game.

Keep in mind this is day 3 for me on construct so try and keep it semi simplistic.
Familiesboggler2013-01-02 19:04:56
B
6
S
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 675

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:16 am

Check up on Families. They can handle same kind of actions if they are built on that level.
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:02 pm

will do, saw that little folder, wondered about it. Thanks a bunch.
-edit
WOW, just wow...
Amazing!!!
EPIC!
boggler2013-01-02 17:06:53
B
6
S
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 675


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PixelatedTrip and 0 guests