Motion blur demo

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:45 pm

www.scirra.com/files/motionblur.cap

Here's a demo of the motion blur. You can press:
1 - Turn off motion blur for comparison
2 - Default (5x) motion blur
3 - 20x motion blur (ridiculously high, puts your graphics card through its paces!)

Look round with the mouse and left click to shoot, arrow keys to move, featuring a cool zooming camera. Notice you can't see behind you if you look as far as you can one way!

Could do with some more comments but hey...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:33 pm

That's awesome. It's very cinematic in a way. Like the camera's all shaky and zooming around frantically to try to keep up with the action.

It looks pretty decent on my crappy card (the 5x blur does, anyway), but I can tell that the 100 fps it shows in the title bar is not accurate at all. Especially on 20x blur. On 20x blur it says 100-110 fps, but it's more like 4 fps.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:50 pm

The framerate is the temporal-antialiased framerate, which means the V-sync rate is 1/5th the framerate for 5x motion blur, and 1/20th for 20x motion blur. So yes, 100fps at 20x motion blur is actually 5 FPS V-Sync rate. Interestingly, low framerates are much more tolerable with motion blur on, because you're not seeing a series of slides - you can see the motion too.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:05 am

That looks awesome Ashley :).

---

I have noticed something with the blur, and I feel this post is probably the best place to mention it while I can.

Using 'every X ticks', 'Always', and for some reason only on 5x blur 'every X milliseconds', the increase in frames also increases the occurrence of the event.

http://www.fileshack.us/get_file.php?id ... urtest.cap

1 is Motion Blur off, 2 is x5, and 3 is x20.

The 'every 1 ticks' and 'Always' make enough sense for me, but take note of the 'every 5 Milliseconds' box.

Motion Blur off and x20 move at the same speed, but x5 moves about twice as fast as that.


EDIT: It could just be my video card, I'm not sure.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,866

Post » Sat Mar 08, 2008 5:27 am

[quote="Glamthaus":3gsmwavn]EDIT: It could just be my video card, I'm not sure.[/quote:3gsmwavn]

Does it here too, on both an onboard (laptop) and an GeForce 8800GTX (desktop).
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 391
Reputation: 2,432

Post » Sat Mar 08, 2008 3:31 pm

I see... I'll have a look and see if I can sort that out.

Edit: fixed for next build.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:52 pm

[quote="Glamthaus":8tu539nj]Motion Blur off and x20 move at the same speed, but x5 moves about twice as fast as that.[/quote:8tu539nj]

x20 is actually super fast here, so maybe it was just your loss of frame rate (is that possible with boxes) that made it the same as zero? Though I guess if Ashley's already fixed it this is irrelevant.
B
4
S
2
G
6
Posts: 161
Reputation: 2,597

Post » Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:50 pm

It probably would have varied from computer to computer. The timer was simply inaccurate over the motion-blurred frames. Should be back to normal for next build.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600


Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests