Move After Stopping on Collision (SOLVED)

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:01 am

OPENING:

Greetings!

Hopefully, some Karma will come my way in return for help given to various people on their projects

PROBLEM:

I am trying to move some baddies down the screen towards a wall (as seen below) after they have been stopped by an on collision event due to baddies that were standing in front of them, but are now destroyed.



OBJECTIVE:

The goal of this post is to find a way for these baddies with nothing in front of them to continue down their journey towards the wall.


CURRENT IMPLEMENTATION:

I'd imagine this would be similar mechanic found in some puzzle games.

Here is what I am currently using:




Monster Sprite has the following Behaviors and Instance Variables:

IsometricRobot2012-11-30 01:38:10
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:16 am

@IsometricRobot

is adding a Solid Behaviour to Sprite11 a possible solution? As in that would handle the "stop when collide" and "move when not colliding" issue but would that break something else?aruche2012-11-29 08:18:19
B
157
S
114
G
8287
Posts: 42
Reputation: 4,152,239

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:09 pm

I did try to implement something like that. The only problem I had though is that they would start knocking each other off the screen. This was likely due to the simulated down command.

So this is a print screen of adding solid behavior and disabling the "touching" Boolean.



As you can see the rows behind the group at the wall have actually pressed the front row past the wall when solids are active. They also tweak out, not visible in screen capture.IsometricRobot2012-11-29 13:11:07
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:40 pm

I added the following change with a partial success:



If there are two rows and the first row is destroyed the second row will now move up.

However. If there is a third row making contact with the second. They will not move forward.
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:20 pm

Anyone that can help me tackle this problem will get credits in the game on completion.
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:50 pm

B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:03 pm

Hey Ramones!

I'm pretty sure that is the answer I need. I'll have to update my license in order to use families.

Assuming is the right answer for the games, could you send me a PM with how you would like to be listed in the credits?
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:38 pm

Event 7 that's disabled is a different solution that doesn't use families. Just disable event 4 and enable 7. Don't worry about credits.
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:22 am

Cool Guy meme in your honor.

B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Post » Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:37 am

P.S. Works perfectly

Consider this issue solved.
B
20
S
4
G
2
Posts: 124
Reputation: 2,482

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fredriksthlm, MPPlantOfficial and 16 guests