...move an object from one point to another

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:43 pm

@EncryptedCow

i'm interested in understanding this other approach you're mentioning.. it isn't clear though.. you mention:

Object.Y > 100
-> Simulate pressing up
(Make sure you set it as custom movement in the properties)

where would i put object.y > 100?

i think i follow what you're saying using custom movement, but just not sure how i phrase it to tell the game to move in a direction until the objects y value is greater than 100..
B
51
S
7
G
1
Posts: 869
Reputation: 5,943

Post » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:01 pm

That's because it's not a condition, it's an action ;p
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:23 pm

It is a condition. I'm talking about the compare Y condition. That way, it will only simulate moving until it reaches that Y value and then stop.
B
40
S
12
G
7
Posts: 603
Reputation: 7,646

Post » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:29 pm

I was replying to part12studios about setting the bullet's angle of motion ;)
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:30 am

ok using the bullet approach i got it to work.. somehow i had orphaned oneof my layouts from an event sheet not understanding how that worked.. so my earlier tests were failing

had to throw my fair share of curses when i couldn't get a simple text field test to display in once scene and not work in the other.. ugh.

but yea this is great. thank you so much for the insight!
B
51
S
7
G
1
Posts: 869
Reputation: 5,943

Post » Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:34 am

You could also use the plug-in behavior called MoveTo.
You just have to set the destination x,y of the object and can even have an event start at the time the destination is reached or while moving.


I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
53
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,157
Reputation: 19,744

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:43 am

@LittleStain that's awesome. how do i install plugins?

I downloaded rex_moveto but Windows 8 doesn't know what to do with it. I have the 64bit version running. Didn't see any folders that seemed obvious.

Thanks!
Caleb
B
51
S
7
G
1
Posts: 869
Reputation: 5,943

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:33 am

The topic How to install Plugins and behaviors explains all..

I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
53
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,157
Reputation: 19,744

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:45 pm

awesoe thanks @LittleStain that's awesome. I installed that one and all of those others as well since i'm sure they will come in handy eventually.

I got the other way to work, but if i can figure out how to properly setup the conditions for this moveto to work i could see it being handy..

thanks!
Caleb
B
51
S
7
G
1
Posts: 869
Reputation: 5,943

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austinblackbelt, Yahoo [Bot] and 21 guests