Moving on, hopefully will be back.

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 20, 2016 2:57 pm

Hello all,

I've been using C2 for about 3-4 months now and I have to say I really do love it, mainly the UI, its a superb design and really easy to work with.

However, I am now moving to Clickteam's Fusion 2.5 but not because its better software, actully I find the fusion UI rather cluttered and confusing and not even close to how C2 is. Sadly the only reason I'm stopping using C2 is that I utterly loathe the fact I cannot export native windows code, I have no interest in android/ios or other platforms and the fact I cannot export to one *single* exe is a royal pain, using a wrapper is a pretty poor choice imo. I know to 99% of the C2 users its no big deal and thats good for them, however for me its really turned into a deal breaker and I'm now using fusion even though its not as easy to use as C2.

However, that said. Should C3 or a future Construct version actually export native code I would immediately buy it and move back, yes I like the UI that much. :)

until then, goodbye and take care all.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556

Post » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:09 pm

Okay, bye. Have fun.
Be sure to check out my Metroidvania game, A Hole in the Earth
B
59
S
24
G
3
Posts: 359
Reputation: 5,683

Post » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:16 pm

I don't see any benefit to have only on big exe-file, but if its that what you want.
So i wish you luck with Fusion, bye.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 432
Reputation: 2,127

Post » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:28 pm

You can build a single executable file from the NW export by using resource hacker to change the NW icon and then using Enigma Virtual Box to create a stand alone executable. It's free as well, so there's not a problem and this isn't a hacky solution IMO....

So the only other problem I've experienced is that the latest NW is still beta - but I bet it'll be fixed before you can create a game...
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
69
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 41,465

Post » Wed Jan 20, 2016 5:24 pm

Good luck for your future projects. :) May I ask you that after a few weeks-months of ClickTeam Fusion, please come back and write your opinion about that engine compared to C2?
B
125
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 20,337

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:12 am

glerikud wrote:Good luck for your future projects. :) May I ask you that after a few weeks-months of ClickTeam Fusion, please come back and write your opinion about that engine compared to C2?


And performance [is it smooth?]!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
78
S
21
G
19
Posts: 1,932
Reputation: 17,316

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:49 am

Why is it important to only have a single file? What difference does it make if some other files are involved?
Scirra Founder
B
383
S
225
G
86
Posts: 24,129
Reputation: 190,581

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:40 pm

glerikud wrote:Good luck for your future projects. :) May I ask you that after a few weeks-months of ClickTeam Fusion, please come back and write your opinion about that engine compared to C2?


I would actually like to do that, I do hope the mods wouldn't see it as off topic or advertising another product but yeah its certainly an idea.
Last edited by OldieSteve on Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:44 pm

Ashley wrote:Why is it important to only have a single file? What difference does it make if some other files are involved?


Its twofold really.

1: yes its purely a personal thing and I want one single exe to run or to give to friends, thats just me and my requirements, its what I prefer.

2: this is the main one, running in a wrapper really hurts the performance, running native code is far faster and more efficient.

like I said, I love C2 and its UI is really damn perfect for me, heck if someone created an addon that exported native windows code I'd buy it, even if it was like £50 :)
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:14 pm

OldieSteve wrote:I would actually like to do that, I do hope the mods wouldn't see it as off topic or advertising another product but yeah its certainly an idea.

There were similar posts on this forum comparing C2 to Unity, etc.. So I don't think this will be a problem :)
B
125
S
33
G
17
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 20,337

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests